2022 Drama Desk Award winners announced

Gillian Russo
Gillian Russo

The 2022 Drama Desk Award winners have been announced. The Off-Broadway shows Prayer for the French Republic and Kimberly Akimbo took home top prizes for Outstanding Play and Outstanding Musical, and the Broadway revivals of How I Learned to Drive and Company were honored in the Outstanding Revival categories. Company and the Broadway play Clyde's led the awards with four each.

There were also multiple special award recipients announced at the time of nominations. Seven Deadly Sins, one of the first in-person New York shows in summer 2021 that was performed in storefronts in the Meatpacking District, received the Chase Award for Unique Theatrical Experience; Tectonic Theater Project and Madison Wells Live produced the project. Playwright Alice Childress, posthumously won the Harold Prince Lifetime Achievement Award; her plays Trouble in Mind and Wedding Band were produced in New York this season.

Marjan Neshat won the Sam Norkin Off-Broadway Award for performing in Selling Kabul and English off Broadway. Costume designer Dede Ayite and set designer Adam Rigg both won special awards for working on multiple shows on and off Broadway this season. Heather Christian won a special award for creating Oratorio for Living Things at Ars Nova.

Below is a complete list of competitive nominees and winners. Winners are denoted in bold.

Outstanding Play

Outstanding Musical

Outstanding Revival of a Play

Outstanding Revival of a Musical

Outstanding Actor in a Play

Outstanding Actress in a Play

  • Tala Ashe - English
  • Ruth Negga - Macbeth
  • Andrea Patterson - Cullud Wattah
  • Phylicia Rashad - Skeleton Crew
  • Shannon Tyo - The Chinese Lady
  • Michelle Wilson - Confederates

Outstanding Actor in a Musical

Outstanding Actress in a Musical

  • Kearstin Piper Brown - Intimate Apparel
  • Victoria Clark - Kimberly Akimbo
  • Sharon D Clarke - Caroline, or Change
  • Jeanna de Waal - Diana
  • Joaquina Kalukango - Paradise Square

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play

  • Joshua Boone - Skeleton Crew
  • Chuck Cooper - Trouble in Mind
  • Daniel K. Isaac - The Chinese Lady
  • Billy Eugene Jones - On Sugarland
  • Ron Cephas Jones - Clyde's

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play

  • Francis Benhamou - Prayer for the French Republic
  • Stephanie Berry - On Sugarland
  • Sonnie Brown - what you are now
  • Page Leong - Out of Time
  • Kenita R. Miller - for colored girls who have considered suicide/ when the rainbow is enuf
  • Kara Young - Clyde's

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical

  • Justin Austin - Intimate Apparel
  • Justin Cooley - Kimberly Akimbo
  • Matt Doyle - Company
  • Jared Grimes - Funny Girl
  • Tavon Olds-Sample - MJ The Musical

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical

  • Judy Kuhn - Assassins
  • Tamika Lawrence - Black No More
  • Patti LuPone - Company
  • Bonnie Milligan - Kimberly Akimbo
  • Jennifer Simard - Company

Outstanding Director of a Play

  • Knud Adams - English
  • Saheem Ali - Merry Wives
  • Rebecca Frecknall - Sanctuary City
  • Taibi Magar - Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992
  • Whitney White - On Sugarland

Outstanding Director of a Musical

  • John Doyle - Assassins
  • Marianne Elliott - Company
  • Lucy Moss and Jamie Armitage - Six
  • Bartlett Sher - Intimate Apparel
  • Jessica Stone - Kimberly Akimbo

Outstanding Choreography

  • Ayodele Casel (tap choreography) - Funny Girl
  • Carrie-Anne Ingrouille - Six
  • Bill T. Jones, Garrett Coleman, and Jason Oremus (Irish Hammerstep), Gelan Lambert and Chloe Davis (associates) - Paradise Square
  • Liam Steel - Company
  • Christopher Wheeldon and Michael Balderrama (associate), Rich and Tone Taleuega (Michael Jackson movement) - MJ The Musical

Outstanding Music

  • Toby Marlow and Lucy Moss - Six
  • Jason Howland - Paradise Square
  • Matt Ray - The Hang
  • Carrie Rodriguez - ¡Americano!
  • Jeanine Tesori - Kimberly Akimbo

Outstanding Lyrics

  • Amanda Green - Mr. Saturday Night
  • Taylor Mac - The Hang
  • Toby Marlow and Lucy Moss - Six
  • David Lindsay-Abaire - Kimberly Akimbo 
  • Lynn Nottage - Intimate Apparel 
  • Shaina Taub - Suffs

Outstanding Book of a Musical

  • Billy Crystal, Lowell Ganz, and Babaloo Mandel - Mr. Saturday Night
  • Toby Marlow and Lucy Moss - Six
  • Lynn Nottage - Intimate Apparel
  • Bruce Sussman - Harmony

Outstanding Orchestrations

  • Tom Curran - Six
  • Greg Jarrett - Assassins 
  • Mark Hartman and Yasuhiko Fukuoka - The Streets of New York
  • Jason Michael Webb and David Holcenberg - MJ The Musical

Outstanding Music in a Play

  • Te'La and Kamauu - Thoughts of a Colored Man
  • Bill Sims Jr. - Lackawanna Blues
  • Michael Thurber and Farai Malianga (drum compositions) - Merry Wives

Outstanding Scenic Design for a Play

Outstanding Scenic Design for a Musical

  • Emma Bailey - Six
  • Beowulf Boritt - Flying Over Sunset
  • Bunny Christie - Company
  • David Zinn - Kimberly Akimbo

Outstanding Costume Design for a Play

  • Linda Cho - The Chinese Lady
  • Gregory Gale - Fairycakes
  • Tilly Grimes - The Alchemist
  • Qween Jean - On Sugarland
  • Jennifer Moeller - Clyde's

Outstanding Costume Design for a Musical

  • Machine Dazzle - The Hang
  • Susan Hilferty - Funny Girl
  • Santo Loquasto - The Music Man
  • Gabriella Slade - Six
  • Catherine Zuber - Intimate Apparel

Outstanding Lighting Design for a Play

  • Christopher Akerlind - Clyde's
  • Reza Behjat - English
  • Isabella Byrd - Sanctuary City
  • Amith Chandrashaker - Prayer for the French Republic
  • Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew - Cullud Wattah

Outstanding Lighting Design for a Musical

  • Natasha Katz - Diana
  • Natasha Katz - MJ
  • Bradley King - Flying Over Sunset
  • Jennifer Tipton - Intimate Apparel 

Outstanding Projection Design

  • 59 Productions - Flying Over Sunset
  • David Bengali - Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992
  • Stephania Bulbarella and Alex Basco Koch - Space Dogs
  • Shawn Duan - The Chinese Lady
  • Sven Ortel - Thoughts of a Colored Man

Outstanding Sound Design for a Play

  • Tyler Kieffer - Seven Deadly Sins 
  • Hidenori Nakajo and Ryan Rumery - Autumn Royal 
  • Ben and Max Ringham - Cyrano de Bergerac
  • Mikaal Sulaiman - Sanctuary City 
  • Lee Kinney - Selling Kabul 

Outstanding Sound Design for a Musical

  • Ian Dickinson for Autograph - Company
  • Paul Gatehouse - Six
  • Kai Harada - Kimberly Akimbo 
  • Gareth Owen - MJ

Outstanding Wig and Hair

  • Matthew B. Armentrout - Paradise Square
  • David Brian Brown - Mrs. Doubtfire
  • Paul Huntley - Diana
  • Charles LaPointe - MJ The Musical

Outstanding Solo Performance

  • Alex Edelman - Just for Us
  • Arturo Luís Soria - Ni Mi Madre 
  • Kristina Wong - Kristina Wong, Sweatshop Overlord

Outstanding Adaptation

  • Merry Wives - by Jocelyn Bioh
  • The Alchemist - by Jeffrey Hatcher

Outstanding Puppet Design

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy