Outer Critics Circle

2022 Outer Critics Circle Awards nominations announced

The Lehman Trilogy leads the nominations with nine.

Gillian Russo
Gillian Russo

The Outer Critics Circle has announced the nominations for its 2022 awards. This year's awards, the 71st annual, will mark a return to an in-person ceremony after last year's virtual honors. Winners will be announced May 16, with a ceremony to honor them following on May 26.

The Outer Critics Circle Awards annually recognize excellence in both Broadway and Off-Broadway theatre. This year, The Lehman Trilogy on Broadway leads the nominations with nine, followed by Harmony and Kimberly Akimbo off Broadway with eight each.

In addition to the competitive awards, the Outer Critics Circle is giving Special Achievement Awards this year to Johanna Day, David Morse, Mary-Louise Parker for reprising their performances in How I Learned to Drive, and Ruben Santiago-Hudson for doing so in Lackawanna Blues. Both productions premiered on Broadway with Manhattan Theatre Club this season after premiere Off-Broadway runs more than 20 years ago.

The Outer Critics Circle is also presenting special commendations to theatre standbys, understudies, and swings who have stepped up, often with only hours' notice, to keep their shows running; and to the Covid-19 safety supervisors, managers, and compliance officers working in the theatre.

Below is a list of all this year's Outer Critics Circle Awards nominees.

Outstanding New Broadway Musical

Outstanding New Broadway Play

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play

John Gassner Award (presented to a new American play, preferably by a new playwright)

Outstanding Revival of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)

Outstanding Revival of a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)

Outstanding Actor in a Musical

  • Justin Cooley, Kimberly Akimbo
  • Myles Frost, MJ the Musical
  • Rob McClure, Mrs. Doubtfire
  • Jaquel Spivey, A Strange Loop
  • Chip Zien, Harmony

Outstanding Actress in a Musical

  • Kearstin Piper Brown, Intimate Apparel
  • Victoria Clark, Kimberly Akimbo
  • Sharon D Clarke, Caroline, or Change
  • Carmen Cusack, Flying Over Sunset
  • Joaquina Kalukango, Paradise Square

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical

  • Quentin Earl Darrington, MJ the Musical
  • Matt Doyle, Company
  • Steven Pasquale, Assassins
  • A.J. Shively, Paradise Square
  • Will Swenson, Assassins

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical

  • Shoshana Bean, Mr. Saturday Night
  • Jenn Colella, Suffs
  • Judy Kuhn, Assassins
  • Patti LuPone, Company
  • Bonnie Milligan, Kimberly Akimbo

Outstanding Actor in a Play

  • Patrick J. Adams, Take Me Out
  • Simon Russell Beale, The Lehman Trilogy
  • Adam Godley, The Lehman Trilogy
  • Adrian Lester, The Lehman Trilogy
  • Sam RockwellAmerican Buffalo

Outstanding Actress in a Play

  • Betsy Aidem, Prayer for the French Republic
  • Stephanie Berry, On Sugarland
  • Edie Falco, Morning Sun
  • LaChanze, Trouble in Mind
  • Debra MessingBirthday Candles

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play

  • Chuck Cooper, Trouble in Mind
  • Brandon J. Dirden, Skeleton Crew
  • Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Take Me Out
  • Michael Oberholtzer, Take Me Out
  • Austin Pendleton, The Minutes

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play

  • Chanté Adams, Skeleton Crew
  • Uzo AdubaClyde's
  • Francis Benhamou, Prayer for the French Republic
  • Phylicia RashadSkeleton Crew
  • Nancy Robinette, Prayer for the French Republic

Outstanding Solo Performance

Outstanding Director of a Play

  • Camille A. Brown, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
  • Scott Ellis, Take Me Out
  • Sam Mendes, The Lehman Trilogy
  • Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Skeleton Crew
  • Anna D. Shapiro, The Minutes

Outstanding Director of a Musical

  • Warren Carlyle, Harmony
  • Moisés Kaufman, Paradise Square
  • Jessica Stone, Kimberly Akimbo
  • Christopher Wheeldon, MJ the Musical
  • Jerry Zaks, Mrs. Doubtfire

Outstanding Choreography

  • Camille A. Brown, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
  • Warren Carlyle, Harmony
  • Warren Carlyle, The Music Man
  • Bill T. Jones, Alex Sanchez, Garrett Coleman, and Jason Oremus, Paradise Square
  • Christopher Wheeldon and Rich + Tone Talauega, MJ the Musical

Outstanding Book of a Musical

  • Billy Crystal, Lowell Ganz, and Babaloo Mandel, Mr. Saturday Night
  • Karey Kirkpatrick and John O'Farrell, Mrs. Doubtfire
  • David Lindsay-Abaire, Kimberly Akimbo
  • Lynn Nottage, Intimate Apparel
  • Bruce Sussman, Harmony

Outstanding Score

  • Jason Howland, Nathan Tysen, and Masi Asare, Paradise Square
  • Wayne Kirkpatrick and Karey Kirkpatrick, Mrs. Doubtfire
  • Barry Manilow and Bruce Sussman, Harmony
  • Toby Marlow and Lucy Moss, Six
  • Jeanine Tesori and David Lindsay-Abaire, Kimberly Akimbo

Outstanding Orchestrations

  • John Clancy, Kimberly Akimbo
  • David Holcenberg and Jason Michael Webb, MJ the Musical
  • Greg Jarrett, Assassins
  • Jason Howland, Paradise Square
  • Doug Walter, Harmony

Outstanding Scenic Design (Play or Musical)

  • Beowulf Boritt, Flying Over Sunset
  • Es Devlin, The Lehman Trilogy
  • Scott Pask, American Buffalo
  • Adam Rigg, The Skin of Our Teeth
  • David Zinn, The Minutes

Outstanding Costume Design (Play or Musical)

  • Jane Greenwood, Plaza Suite
  • Santo Loquasto, The Music Man
  • Gabriella Slade, Six
  • Emilio Sosa, Trouble in Mind
  • Catherine Zuber, Mrs. Doubtfire

Outstanding Lighting Design (Play or Musical)

  • Jon Clark, The Lehman Trilogy
  • Natasha Katz, MJ the Musical
  • Bradley King, Flying Over Sunset
  • Brian MacDevitt, The Minutes
  • Jen Schreiver, Lackawanna Blues

Outstanding Sound Design (Play or Musical)

  • Nick Powell and Dominic Bilkey, The Lehman Trilogy
  • André Pluess, The Minutes
  • Ben and Max Ringham, Blindness
  • Dan Moses Schreier, Harmony
  • Matt Stine, Assassins

Outstanding Video/Projection Design (Play or Musical)

  • 59 Productions and Benjamin Pearcy, Flying Over Sunset
  • Stefania Bulbarella and Alex Basco Koch, Space Dogs
  • Shawn Duan, Letters of Suresh
  • Luke Halls, The Lehman Trilogy
  • Jeff Sugg, Mr. Saturday Night

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy