Drama League Awards

2022 Drama League Award Winners announced

Six productions won awards this year.

Gillian Russo
Gillian Russo

The winners of the 2022 Drama League Awards have been announced, with seven prizes being awarded to a total of six productions. The Broadway revival of Company took home two awards — Outstanding Revival of a Musical and Outstanding Direction of a Musical — while Broadway's The Lehman Trilogy, Clyde's, The Music Man, Take Me Out, and A Strange Loop earned one each.

The Drama League Awards consider both Broadway and Off-Broadway theatre in its categories, with awards being given out for a new play and musical, a play and musical revival, play and musical direction, and one Distinguished Performance Award for an actor this season.

In addition to the competitive awards, four special awards were given. The Music Man's Hugh Jackman received the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre award, and The Skin of Our Teeth director Lileana Blain-Cruz won the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing. Mr. Saturday Night star Billy Crystal received an award for Contribution to the Theater, and producer Willette Murphy Klausner received the Gratitude Award.

Read the full list of Drama League Award nominees and winners below. Winners are denoted in bold. 

Outstanding Production of a Play

Outstanding Revival of a Play

Outstanding Production of a Musical

Outstanding Revival of a Musical

Outstanding Direction of a Play

  • Knud Adams, English
  • Saheem Ali, Merry Wives
  • Stori Ayers, Confederates
  • Camille A. Brown, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
  • Matthew Dunster, Hangmen
  • Jamie Lloyd, Cyrano de Bergerac
  • Sam Mendes, The Lehman Trilogy
  • Tyne Rafaeli, Selling Kabul
  • Taylor Reynolds, Tambo & Bones
  • Les Waters, Dana H.
  • Kate Whoriskey, Clyde's

Outstanding Direction of a Musical

  • John Doyle, Assassins
  • Marianne Elliott, Company
  • Lee Sunday Evans, Oratorio for Living Things
  • Michael Mayer, Funny Girl
  • Lucy Moss and Jamie Armitage, Six
  • Leigh Silverman, Suffs
  • Niegel Smith, The Hang
  • Christopher Wheeldon, MJ the Musical
  • Jerry Zaks, The Music Man

Distinguished Performance Award

  • Uzo AdubaClyde's
  • Simon Russell Beale, The Lehman Trilogy
  • Shoshana Bean, Mr. Saturday Night
  • Gabby Beans, The Skin of Our Teeth
  • Victoria Clark, Kimberly Akimbo
  • Sharon D ClarkeCaroline, or Change
  • Billy Crystal, Mr. Saturday Night
  • Matt Doyle, Company
  • Rachel Dratch, POTUS: Or, Behind Every Great Dumbass Are Seven Women Trying to Keep Him Alive
  • Edie Falco, Morning Sun
  • Tyler Fauntleroy, Tambo & Bones
  • Beanie FeldsteinFunny Girl
  • Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Take Me Out
  • Sutton FosterThe Music Man
  • Myles Frost, MJ: The Musical
  • Adrianna Hicks, Six
  • Marin Ireland, Morning Sun
  • Nikki M. James, Suffs
  • Ron Cephas Jones, Clyde's
  • Joaquina Kalukango, Paradise Square
  • LaChanze, Trouble in Mind
  • L Morgan Lee, A Strange Loop
  • Jane Lynch, Funny Girl
  • Taylor Mac, The Hang
  • Brittney Mack, Six
  • Ebony Marshall-Oliver, 7 Minutes
  • Elizabeth Marvel, Long Day's Journey Into Night
  • James McAvoy, Cyrano de Bergerac
  • Rob McClure, Mrs. Doubtfire
  • Kenita R. Miller, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
  • Bonnie Milligan, Kimberly Akimbo
  • David MorseHow I Learned to Drive
  • Deirdre O'Connell, Dana H.
  • Sarah Jessica ParkerPlaza Suite
  • Phylicia RashadSkeleton Crew
  • Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Lackawanna Blues
  • Arturo Luis Soria, Ni Mi Madre
  • Jaquel Spivey, A Strange Loop
  • Cecily Strong, The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe
  • Will Swenson, Assassins
  • Julie White, POTUS: Or, Behind Every Great Dumbass Are Seven Women Trying to Keep Him Alive
  • Jesse Williams, Take Me Out
  • Michelle Wilson, Confederates

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy