The 33rd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards... And the Winners are...

School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls PlayKPOP Cost of Living win big at the 2018 Lucille Lortel Awards.

School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play, KPOP & Cost of Living

Last night Off-Broadway celebrated its biggest night of the year with The 33rd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards, held at NYU Skirball Center, hosted by Meteor Shower co-stars Laura Benanti and Jeremy Shamos, and honoring outstanding achievement Off-Broadway during the 2017-2018 season.

The following special awards were also presented at this year's ceremony:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Eve Ensler

Outstanding Body of Work Award: WP Theater

Playwrights' Sidewalk Inductee: Michael Friedman​

And without any further ado, here are this year's winners...

Outstanding Play


Cost of Living written by Martyna Majok and School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play written by Jocelyn Bioh


Miles for Mary written by Marc Bovino, Joe Curnutte, Michael Dalto, Lila Neugebauer and Stephanie Wright Thompson

Pipeline written by Dominique Morisseau

The Treasurer written by Max Posner

Outstanding Musical


KPOP conceived by Woodshed Collective and Jason Kim, Book by Jason Kim, Music and Lyrics by Helen Park and Max Vernon, Immersive Design by Woodshed Collective


Bella: An American Tall Tale - Book, Music and Lyrics by Kirsten Childs

Desperate Measures - Book and Lyrics by Peter Kellogg, Music by David Friedman

Hundred Days written by the Bengsons and Sarah Gancher

Jerry Springer — The Opera - Music and Lyrics by Richard Thomas, Book and additional Lyrics by Stewart Lee and Richard Thomas

Outstanding Revival


Jesus Hopped the 'A' Train written by Stephen Adly Guirgis


F**king A written by Suzan-Lori Parks

In the Blood written by Suzan-Lori Parks

The Government Inspector adapted by Jeffrey Hatcher from Revizor by Nikolai Gogol​

Torch Song written by Harvey Fierstein

Outstanding Solo Show


Harry Clarke written by David Cale, performed by Billy Crudup


Who's Holiday! written by Matthew Lombardo, performed by Lesli Margherita

Outstanding Director


Anne KauffmanMary Jane


Lileana Blain-CruzPipeline

Michael Greif​The Low Road

Lila NeugebauerMiles for Mary

Leigh Silverman​Harry Clarke

Outstanding Choreographer


Sonya TayehThe Lucky Ones


Camille A. BrownBella: An American Tall Tale

Bill CastellinoDesperate Measures

Byron EasleyX: Or, Betty Shabazz v. The Nation

Jennifer WeberKPOP 

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play


Sean Carvajal​Jesus Hopped The ‘A’ Train


Peter FriedmanThe Treasurer

Chukwudi Iwuji​The Low Road

Namir Smallwood​Pipeline

Michael UrieTorch Song 

Outstanding Lead Actress in a play


Carrie CoonMary Jane


Quincy Tyler BernstineThe Amateurs

MaameYaa Boafo​School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play

Cristin Milioti​After the Blast

Karen PittmanPipeline

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical


Damon DaunnoThe Lucky Ones


Steven EngPacific Overtures

Terrence MannJerry Springer — The Opera

Wade McCollumErnest Shackleton Loves Me

James Seol​KPOP 

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical


Ashley ParkKPOP


Abigail BengsonHundred Days

Ashley D. KelleyBella: An American Tall Tale

Julia KnitelA Letter to Harvey Milk

Lauren Molina​Desperate Measures

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play


Gregg MozgalaCost of Living


Marc BovinoMiles for Mary

Edi Gathegi​Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train

Paul SparksEdward Albee's At Home at the Zoo: Homelife and The Zoo Story

John TuftsPride and Prejudice

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play


Mirirai SitholeSchool Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play


Vanessa AspillagaAmy and the Orphans

Quincy Tyler BernstineAs You Like It

Liza Colón-ZayasMary Jane

Katy Sullivan​Cost of Living

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical


Jason TamKPOP


Sean Patrick DoyleJerry Springer — The Opera

Brandon Gill​Bella: An American Tall Tale

Paolo Montalban​Bella: An American Tall Tale

Thom SesmaPacific Overtures

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical


Tiffany MannJerry Springer – The Opera


Vanessa KaiKPOP

Maryann Plunkett​The Lucky Ones

Myra Lucretia TaylorThe Lucky Ones

Adina VersonThe Lucky Ones

Outstanding Scenic Design


Louisa ThompsonIn the Blood


Gabriel Hainer EvansohnKPOP

Anna FleischleHangmen

Laura Jellinek​Mary Jane

Amy Rubin​Miles for Mary

Outstanding Costume Design


Dede M. Ayite​School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play


Dede M. Ayite​Bella: An American Tall Tale

Tricia Barsamian​​KPOP

Tilly GrimesThe Government Inspector

Emily RebholzThe Low Road

Outstanding Lighting Design


Alan C. EdwardsHarry Clarke


Bradley KingThe Treasurer

Ben StantonThe Low Road

Japhy WeidemanMary Jane

Jeanette Oi-Suk YewKPOP

Outstanding Sound Design


Leah GelpeMary Jane


Mikhail Fiksel​The Treasurer

Bray Poor​​The Last Match

Bray PoorOffice Hour

Brandon WolcottAfter the Blast 

Outstanding Projection Design


Hannah Wasileski​Pipeline


Lucy MackinnonAfter the Blast

Alexander V. NicholsErnest Shackleton Loves Me

Brad PetersonThe Stone Witch

Jeanette Oi-Suk YewRelevance

The 2018 Lucille Lortel Awards voting committee is appointed by the League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Actors’ Equity Association, the Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, and the Lucille Lortel Foundation, and includes theatre journalists, academics and other Off-Broadway professionals.

Awarded since 1986, the Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

(School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play photo by Jaon Marcus, KPOP photo by Ben Arons, Cost of Living photo by Joan Marcus)