Lucille Lortel Awards 2019... And the Winners are...

Anika Noni Rose & Steven Skybell

Last night the Off-Broadway League celebrated The 34th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards, honoring outstanding achievement Off-Broadway during the 2018-2019 season. The ceremony was hosted by multiple Emmy Award winner Wayne Brady at NYU Skirball Center.

Classic Stage Company's revival of Carmen Jones was the big winner of the night, scooping a total of 4 Awards, including "Outstanding Revival" and "Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical" for its star, Anika Noni Rose. Lincoln Center Theater's LCT3 production of Pass Over took home the gong for "Outstanding Play," whilst "Outstanding Musical" went to Ars Nova’s Rags Parkland Sings The Songs Of The Future.

Here is the full list of winners for The 34th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards:

Outstanding Play

Mlima's Tale (at the Public Theater) - written by Lynn Nottage

Pass Over (at Lincoln Center Theater/LCT3) - written by Antoinette Nwandu - WINNER!!!

Slave Play (at New York Theatre Workshop) - written by Jeremy O. Harris

Sugar In Our Wounds (at Manhattan Theatre Club) - written by Donja R. Love

What the Constitution Means to Me (at New York Theatre Workshop) - written by Heidi Schreck

Outstanding Musical

Be More Chill (at Pershing Square Signature Center) - Music & Lyrics by Joe Iconis, Book by Joe Tracz 

Girl from the North Country (at the Public Theater) - Book by Conor McPherson, Music & Lyrics by Bob Dylan

Midnight at The Never Get (at York Theatre Company) - Book, Music & Lyrics by Mark Sonnenblick, Co-Conceived by Sam Bolen

Miss You Like Hell (at the Public Theater) - Book & Lyrics by Quiara Alegría Hudes, Music & Lyrics by Erin McKeown

Rags Parkland Sings The Songs Of The Future (at Ars Nova) - written by Andrew R. Butler - WINNER!!!

Outstanding Revival

Carmen Jones (at Classic Stage Company) - Book & Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II, with Music by Georges Bizet - WINNER!!!

Fabulation, or The Re-Education of Undine (at Signature Theatre) - written by Lynn Nottage

Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish (by National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene) - Book by Joseph Stein, Music by Jerry Bock, Lyrics by Sheldon Harnick, Translation by Shraga Friedman

Happy Birthday, Wanda June (by Wheelhouse Theater Company) - written by Kurt Vonnegut

The Shadow of a Gunman (at Irish Repertory Theatre) - written by Sean O'Casey

Outstanding Solo Show

Feeding the Dragon (at Primary Stages) - written and performed by Sharon Washington

Fleabag (at Soho Playhouse) - written and performed by Phoebe Waller-Bridge - WINNER!!!

Girls & Boys (at Minetta Lane Theatre) - written by Dennis Kelly and performed by Carey Mulligan

Mike Birbiglia's The New One (at Cherry Lane Theatre) - written and performed by Mike Birbiglia, additional writing by Jennifer Hope Stein

My Life On a Diet (at the Theatre at St. Clement's) - written by Renée Taylor and Joseph Bologna and performed by Renée Taylor

Outstanding Director

Lileana Blain-Cruz, Marys Seacole

Jo Bonney, Mlima’s Tale

John Doyle, Carmen Jones

Lee Sunday Evans, Dance Nation - WINNER!!!

Joel Grey, Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish

Outstanding Choreographer

Lee Sunday Evans, Dance Nation

Raja Feather Kelly, If Pretty Hurts Ugly Must Be a Muhfucka

Rick and Jeff Kuperman, Alice By Heart - WINNER!!!

Lorin Latarro, Merrily We Roll Along

Susan Stroman, The Beast in the Jungle

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play

Juan Castano, Transfers - WINNER!!!

Russell Harvard, I Was Most Alive with You

Jon Michael Hill, Pass Over

Sahr Ngaujah, Mlima’s Tale

Tom Sturridge, Sea Wall/A Life

Outstanding Lead Actress in a play

Ako, God Said This

Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Marys Seacole - WINNER!!!

Marin Ireland, Blue Ridge

Zainab Jah, Boesman and Lena

Charlayne Woodard, “Daddy”

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical

Sam Bolen, Midnight at The Never Get

Andrew R. Butler, Rags Parkland Sings The Songs Of The Future

Jeremy Cohen, Midnight at The Never Get

Clifton Duncan, Carmen Jones

Steven Skybell, Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish - WINNER!!!

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical

Kate Baldwin, Superhero

Gizel Jiménez, Miss You Like Hell

Anika Noni Rose, Carmen Jones - WINNER!!!

Stacey Sargeant, Rags Parkland Sings The Songs Of The Future

Mare Winningham, Girl from the North Country

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play

Ato Blankson-Wood, Slave Play

Marchánt Davis, Ain't No Mo'

Gabriel Ebert, Pass Over - WINNER!!!

John Procaccino, Downstairs

Matt Walker, The Play That Goes Wrong

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play

Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Our Lady of 121st Street

Stephanie Berry, Sugar In Our Wounds

Blair Brown, Mary Page Marlowe

Crystal Lucas-Perry, Ain't No Mo' - WINNER!!!

Danielle Skraastad, Hurricane Diane

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical

John Edwards, Smokey Joe's Cafe: The Songs of Leiber & Stoller

Sydney James Harcourt, Girl from the North Country

Bryce Pinkham, Superhero

George Salazar, Be More Chill - WINNER!!!

Heath Saunders, Alice By Heart

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical

Jackie Hoffman, Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish

Stephanie Hsu, Be More Chill

Luba Mason, Girl from the North Country

Soara-Joye Ross, Carmen Jones - WINNER!!!

Alysha Umphress, Smokey Joe's Cafe: The Songs of Leiber & Stoller

Outstanding Scenic Design

Wilson Chin, Pass Over

Charlie Corcoran, The Shadow of a Gunman

Nigel Hook, The Play That Goes Wrong

Laura Jellinek, Rags Parkland Sings The Songs Of The Future

Arnulfo Maldonado, Sugar In Our Wounds - WINNER!!!

Outstanding Costume Design

Dede Ayite, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark

Montana Levi Blanco, The House That Will Not Stand - WINNER!!! (TIE)

Jennifer Moeller, Mlima’s Tale

Kaye Voyce, Marys Seacole

Paloma Young, Alice By Heart - WINNER!!! (TIE)

Outstanding Lighting Design

Amith Chandrashaker, Boesman and Lena

Lap Chi Chu, Mlima’s Tale - WINNER!!!

Bradley King, Apologia

Barbara Samuels, Rags Parkland Sings The Songs Of The Future

Yi Zhao, The House That Will Not Stand

Outstanding Sound Design

Matt Hubbs, Boesman and Lena

Dan Moses Schreier, Carmen Jones - WINNER!!!

Jane Shaw, I Was Most Alive with You

Mikaal Sulaiman, Rags Parkland Sings The Songs Of The Future

Isobel Waller-Bridge, Fleabag

Outstanding Projection Design

Katherine Freer, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark

Luke Halls, Girls & Boys

Alex Basco Koch, Be More Chill

Alex Basco Koch, Fireflies

Tal Yarden, Superhero - WINNER!!!

The following Special Awards, as previously reported, were also presented at last night's ceremony:

Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award: Off-Broadway League President Terry Byrne

Outstanding Body of Work AwardTelsey + Company

Playwrights' Sidewalk InducteeMaría Irene Fornés​ (who will be inducted posthumously)

A Special Award for Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience was also presented to On Beckett (at Irish Repertory Theatre), exploring the works of Samuel Beckett, which was conceived by Bill Irwin.

The 2019 Lucille Lortel Awards voting committee was appointed by the League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Actors’ Equity Association, the Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, and the Lucille Lortel Foundation, and included theatre journalists, academics and other Off-Broadway professionals.

Awarded since 1986, the Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

(Anika Noni Rose photo by Joan Marcus / Steven Skybell photo by Matthew Murphy)