This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Heidi Schreck in What the Constitution Means to Me

Obie Awards 2019... And the Winners are...

Heidi Schreck's What the Constitution Means to Me takes home the prize for "Best New American Play"...

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Last night The American Theatre Wing and The Village Voice presented The 64th Annual Obie Awards at Terminal 5 on West 56th Street, hosted by the Golden Globe-winning star and creator of The CW's "Crazy Ex-Girlfriend," Rachel Bloom. The Obie Award for "Best New American Play," along with a $1,000 prize, went to Heidi Schreck's What the Constitution Means to Me, which is currently playing The Hayes Theater on Broadway through August 24, 2019. Also honored at this year's ceremony was director Daniel Fish and the creative team behind Rodgers & Hammerstein's Oklahoma!, now playing a limited Broadway engagement through January 19, 2020, at the Circle in the Square Theatre.

Check out the full list of 2019 Obie winners below...


Best New American Play ($1,000 prize)
Heidi Schreck, What the Constitution Means to Me (New York Theatre Workshop)


Marcus Gardley, The House That Will Not Stand (New York Theatre Workshop)
Madeleine George, Hurricane Diane (New York Theatre Workshop)
Suzan-Lori Parks, White Noise (The Public Theater)


Jo Bonney, Sustained Excellence in Directing
Leigh Silverman, Sustained Excellence in Directing
Stevie Walker Webb, Ain't No Mo' (The Public Theater)


Mia Barron, Hurricane Diane (New York Theatre Workshop)
Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Sustained Excellence in Performance
Cherise Boothe, Fabulation, or the Re-Education of Undine (Signature Theatre Company)
Francis Jue, Wild Goose Dreams (The Public Theater)
Heather Alicia Simms, Fabulation, or the Re-Education of Undine (Signature Theatre Company) and By The Way, Meet Vera Stark (Signature Theatre Company)


Dede M. Ayite, Sustained Excellence in Costume Design
Isabella Byrd, Lighting Design, Light Shining in Buckinghamshire (New York Theatre Workshop)
Palmer Hefferan, Sustained Excellence in Sound Design
Cookie Jordan, Sustained Excellence in Hair, Wigs, and Makeup
Clint Ramos, Set Design, Wild Goose Dreams (The Public Theater)
Louisa Thompson, Sustained Excellence in Scenic Design


Special Citations
Clare Barron (Playwright) and Lee Sunday Evans (Director), Dance Nation (Playwrights Horizons)
Jordan E. Cooper for Playwrighting & Performance, Ain't No Mo' (The Public Theater)
Jackie Sibblies Drury (Playwright) and Lileana Blain Cruz (Director), Marys Seacole (LCT3)
The Cast and Creative Team, The Jungle (St. Ann's Warehouse); Joe Murphy and Joe Robertson (Playwrights), Stephen Daldry and Justin Martin (Directors), Miriam Buether (Set Design), Catherine Kodicek (Costume Design), Jon Clark (Lighting Design), Paul Arditti (Sound Design), John Pfumojena (Composition), Tristan Shepherd and Duncan McLean (Video Design); Mohammad Amiri, Alexander Devrient, Elham Ehsas, Trevor Fox, Milan Ghobsheh, Ammar Haj Ahmad, Alex Lawther, Jo McInnes, Yasin Moradi, Jonathan Nyati, John Pfumojena, Rachel Redford, Dominic Rowan, Rachid Sabitri, Mohamed Sarrar, Ben Turner, Nahel Tzegai, Vera Gurpinar, and Annika Mehta (Ensemble)
The Director and Creative Team, Oklahoma! (St. Ann's Warehouse); Daniel Fish (Director), John Heginbotham (Choreographer), Daniel Kluger (Music Arrangements/Orchestrations), Laura Jellinek (Set Design), Terese Wadden (Costume Design), Scott Zielinski (Lighting Design), Drew Levy (Sound Design), and Joshua Thorson (Production Design)


The Ross Wetzsteon Award ($3,000 prize)


Obie Grants ($4,000 prize each)
The Movement Theatre Company
Target Margin Theater
WP Theater


Lifetime Achievement Award
James C. Nicola, Artistic Director of New York Theatre Workshop
Jeffrey Horowitz, Artistic Director and founder of Theatre For A New Audience


For the past 64 years the OBIE Awards have honored the best of Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway. Structured with informal categories that change annually, The Obie Awards recognize persons and productions of excellence. Unlike most theatre awards, the Obie Awards have no nominations.

(Photo by Joan Marcus)


Originally published on