KPOP and Mary Jane

Nominations for The 33rd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards announced

Lucille Lortel Nominees this year include Michael Urie, Harry Crudup, Carrie Coon, Ashley Park, Lesli Margherita, Quincy Tyler Bernstine, and many more.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

The Off-Broadway League has announced the nominations for The 33rd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for outstanding achievement Off-Broadway. The nominations were announced by Broadway favorites and Lucille Lortel Award recipients Rachel Bay Jones and Steven Pasquale.

The winners of the 2018 Lucille Lortel Awards will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on Sunday, May 6, 2018 at NYU Skirball Center from 7pm EST.

Leading the nominations with nine is the immersive Korean Pop musical KPOP, which also featured Mean Girls star Ashley Park, whilst the most nominated play this year is New York Theatre Workshop's production of Mary Jane, starring Tony & Emmy Award nominee Carrie Coon.

The following special awards will also be presented at this year's ceremony:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Eve Ensler

Outstanding Body of Work Award: WP Theater

Playwrights' Sidewalk Inductee: Michael Friedman​

The 2018 nominations by category are:

Outstanding Play

Cost of Living

written by Martyna Majok

Miles for Mary

Written by Marc Bovino, Joe Curnutte, Michael Dalto, Lila Neugebauer and Stephanie Wright Thompson


Written by Dominique Morisseau

School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play

Written by Jocelyn Biohn

The Treasurer

Written by Max Posner

Outstanding Musical

Bella: An American Tall Tale

Book, Music and Lyrics by Kirsten Childs

Desperate Measures

Book and Lyrics by Peter Kellogg, Music by David Friedman

Hundred Days

Written by the Bengsons and Sarah Gancher

Jerry Springer — The Opera

Music and Lyrics by Richard Thomas, Book and additional Lyrics by Stewart Lee and Richard Thomas


Conceived by Woodshed Collective and Jason Kim, Book by Jason Kim, Music and Lyrics by Helen Park and Max Vernon, Immersive Design by Woodshed Collective

Outstanding Revival

F**king A

Written by Suzan-Lori Parks

In the Blood

Written by Suzan-Lori Parks

Jesus Hopped the 'A' Train 

Written by Stephen Adly Guirgis

The Government Inspector 

Adapted by Jeffrey Hatcher from Revizor by Nikolai Gogol​

Torch Song

Written by Harvey Fierstein

Outstanding Solo Show

Harry Clarke

Written by David Cale, performed by Billy Crudup

Who's Holiday!

Written by Matthew Lombardo, performed by Lesli Margherita

Outstanding Director

Lileana Blain-Cruz: Pipeline

Michael Greif​: The Low Road

Anne Kauffman: Mary Jane

Lila Neugebauer: Miles for Mary

Leigh Silverman​: Harry Clarke

Outstanding Choreographer

Camille A. Brown: Bella: An American Tall Tale

Bill Castellino: Desperate Measures

Byron Easley: X: Or, Betty Shabazz v. The Nation

Sonya Tayeh: The Lucky Ones

Jennifer Weber: KPOP 

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play

Sean Carvajal​: Jesus Hopped The 'A' Train

Peter Friedman: The Treasurer

Chukwudi Iwuji​The Low Road

Namir Smallwood​: Pipeline

Michael Urie: Torch Song 

Outstanding Lead Actress in a play

Quincy Tyler Bernstine: The Amateurs

MaameYaa Boafo​: School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play

Carrie Coon: Mary Jane

Cristin Milioti​After the Blast

Karen Pittman: Pipeline

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical

Damon Daunno: The Lucky Ones

Steven Eng: Pacific Overtures

Terrence Mann: Jerry Springer — The Opera

Wade McCollum: Ernest Shackleton Loves Me

James Seol​: KPOP 

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical

Abigail Bengson: Hundred Days

Ashley D. Kelley: Bella: An American Tall Tale

Julia Knitel: A Letter to Harvey Milk

Lauren Molina​: Desperate Measures

Ashley Park: KPOP

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play

Marc Bovino: Miles for Mary

Edi Gathegi​: Jesus Hopped the 'A' Train

Gregg Mozgala: Cost of Living

Paul Sparks: Edward Albee's At Home at the Zoo: Homelife and The Zoo Story

John Tufts: Pride and Prejudice

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play

Vanessa Aspillaga: Amy and the Orphans

Quincy Tyler Bernstine: As You Like It

Liza Colón-Zayas: Mary Jane

Mirirai Sithole: School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play

Katy Sullivan​: Cost of Living

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical

Sean Patrick Doyle: Jerry Springer — The Opera

Brandon Gill​: Bella: An American Tall Tale

Paolo Montalban​: Bella: An American Tall Tale

Thom Sesma: Pacific Overtures

Jason Tam: KPOP

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical

Vanessa Kai: KPOP

Tiffany Mann: Jerry Springer - The Opera

Maryann Plunkett​: The Lucky Ones

Myra Lucretia Taylor: The Lucky Ones

Adina Verson: The Lucky Ones

Outstanding Scenic Design

Gabriel Hainer Evansohn: KPOP

Anna Fleischle: Hangmen

Laura Jellinek​: Mary Jane

Amy Rubin​: Miles for Mary

Louisa Thompson: In the Blood

Outstanding Costume Design

Dede M. Ayite​: Bella: An American Tall Tale

Dede M. Ayite​: School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play

Tricia Barsamian​​: KPOP

Tilly Grimes: The Government Inspector

Emily Rebholz: The Low Road

Outstanding Lighting Design

Alan C. Edwards: Harry Clarke

Bradley King: The Treasurer

Ben Stanton: The Low Road

Japhy Weideman: Mary Jane

Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew: KPOP

Outstanding Sound Design

Mikhail Fiksel​: The Treasurer

Leah Gelpe: Mary Jane

Bray Poor​​: The Last Match

Bray Poor: Office Hour

Brandon Wolcott: After the Blast 

Outstanding Projection Design

Lucy Mackinnon: After the Blast

Alexander V. Nichols: Ernest Shackleton Loves Me

Brad Peterson: The Stone Witch

Hannah Wasileski​: Pipeline

Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew: Relevance

The 2018 Lucille Lortel Awards voting committee is appointed by the League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Actors' Equity Association, the Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, and the Lucille Lortel Foundation, and includes theatre journalists, academics and other Off-Broadway professionals.

Awarded since 1986, the Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

(KPOP photo by Ben Arons, Mary Jane photo by Joan Marcus)

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy