Lin-Manuel Miranda’s Freestyle Love Supreme to transfer to Broadway this fall

The hip-hop improvisational show conceived by Lin-Manuel Miranda will play on Broadway from September 13, 2019 at the Booth Theatre.

Freestyle Love Supreme

Following its limited engagement at Greenwich House Theater earlier this year, Freestyle Love Supreme will receive its Broadway premiere at the Booth Theatre this fall.

Conceived by Lin-Manuel Miranda, Thomas Kail and Anthony Veneziale, the musical production combines elements of improvisational theatre and hip-hop, accompanied by a live band. Created in homage to John Coltrane's "A Love Supreme," the show will feature live jazz, soul and blues music.

Freestyle Love Supreme will begin previews on September 13, 2019, ahead of an official opening night on October 2. The production will then run for a 16-week limited engagement, closing on January 5, 2020.

Each performance will feature a different line-up, which could include guest performances from the likes of Daveed Diggs and Christopher Jackson (who both starred in the original Broadway cast of Hamilton), as well as Wayne Brady and James Monroe Inglehart.

Synopsis: “Six talented performers providing non-stop action throughout this fast-paced evening, spinning cues from the audience into humorous bits, instantaneous songs and riffs, and fully realized musical numbers. The electrifying vocals of the performers – from singing to rapping to beat-boxing with harmonies and freestyle flow – are backed by tight tunes from keyboards and human percussion.”

Due to the improvisational nature of the show, the full line-up for each performance is yet to be announced, however Freestyle Love Supreme will feature Andrew Bancroft (aka Jelly Donut), Arthur Lewis (aka Arthur The Geniuses), Bill Sherman (aka King Sherman), Chris Sullivan (aka Shockwave), Anthony Veneziale (aka Two-Touch), and Utkarsh Ambudkar (aka UTK).

The creative team of Freestyle Love Supreme features scenic design by Beowulf Boritt, costume design by Lisa Zinni, lighting design by Jeff Croiter, and sound design by Nevin Steinberg.

(Photo by Matthew Murphy)