The Drama Desk Awards will now air on June 13

The awards were initially postponed in solidarity with the Black Lives Matter protests.

The 65th annual Drama Desk Awards, which were postponed the morning of the event on May 31, will now air Saturday, June 13 at 7:30PM ET. Viewers can tune in to the ceremony on Spectrum News NY1 and stream on and 

The ceremony was originally scheduled to take place at Town Hall in New York City, but was forced to move to a televised and streamed format due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The telecast was then pre-recorded for its May 31 broadcast date, but then postponed to allow the network to continue its coverage of Black Lives Matter protests. 

The June 13 event will be hosted by Frank DiLella of "On Stage" on Spectrum News NY1, and will celebrate this season's outstanding achievements on Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Off-Off Broadway. The ceremony will also introduce the Drama Desk Awards' first-ever lifetime achievement award, The Harold Prince Award, a celebration of the producer/director's contributions to the industry. For its inaugural year, it will be bestowed posthumously to Prince who passed away July 31, 2019 at the age of 91. 

The ceremony will feature stars of the stage and screen as well as decorated Drama Desk winners, including: Tituss Burgess, Drama Desk Award winner James Corden, two-time Drama Desk Award winner Kristin Chenoweth, Drama Desk Award winner Alan Cumming,

Beanie Feldstein, two-time Drama Desk Award winner Santino Fontana, Drama Desk Award winner Renée Elise Goldsberry, two-time Drama Desk Award winner Jesse Tyler Ferguson, two-time Drama Desk Award winner Jane Krakowski, three-time Drama Desk Award winner Patti LuPone, five-time Drama Desk Award winner Audra McDonald, Drama Desk Award winner Cynthia Nixon, two-time Drama Desk Award nominee Ashley Park, Drama Desk Award nominee Andrew Rannells, Drama Desk Award winner Ali Stroker, and five-time Drama Desk Award winner Susan Stroman.

The event will air on NY1 and will be available to stream at and at 7:30PM ET on May 31. 

Check out the complete list of Drama Desk nominees here. 

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy