2022 Lucille Lortel Award winners announced

Gillian Russo
Gillian Russo

The Off-Broadway League has named the winners for its 37th annual Lucille Lortel Awards, which recognize excellence in Off-Broadway theatre. This year, the ceremony took place at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts on May 1.

English and Kimberly Akimbo took home the top prizes for Best Play and Best Musical, respectively. Kimberly Akimbo and Heather Christian's Oratorio for Living Things led in overall wins, each receiving three.

In addition to the competitive awards winners, two artists were honored with special awards. actress Deirdre O'Connell received a Lifetime Achievement Award, and playwright David Henry Hwang was inducted into the Playwrights' Sidewalk.

Read the full list of 2022 Lucille Lortel Award winners and nominees below. Winners are denoted in bold.

Outstanding Play

Outstanding Musical

Outstanding Revival

Outstanding Solo Show

Outstanding Director

  • David Cromer - Prayer for the French Republic
  • John Doyle - Assassins
  • Lee Sunday Evans - Oratorio For Living Things
  • Taibi Magar - Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992
  • Whitney White - On Sugarland

Outstanding Choreographer

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Play

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Play

  • Abena - Nollywood Dreams
  • Betsy Aidem - Prayer for the French Republic
  • Francis Benhamou - Prayer for the French Republic
  • Jacob Ming-Trent - The Alchemist
  • Thom Sesma - Letters of Suresh

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Musical

  • Kearstin Piper Brown - Intimate Apparel
  • Victoria Clark - Kimberly Akimbo
  • Justin Cooley - Kimberly Akimbo
  • Tamika Lawrence - Black No More
  • Ahmad Maksoud - The Visitor

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Musical

  • Steven Boyer - Kimberly Akimbo
  • Bonnie Milligan - Kimberly Akimbo
  • Ethan Slater - Assassins
  • Will Swenson - Assassins
  • Lillias White - Black No More

Outstanding Ensemble

  • English
  • Oratorio For Living Things
  • Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992

Outstanding Scenic Design

Outstanding Costume Design

  • Ari Fulton - Confederates
  • Gregory Gale - Fairycakes
  • Dominique Fawn Hill - Tambo & Bones
  • Márion Talán de la Rosa - Oratorio For Living Things
  • Catherine Zuber - Intimate Apparel

Outstanding Lighting Design

Outstanding Sound Design

  • Mikhail Fiksel - Tambo & Bones
  • Nick Kourtides - Oratorio For Living Things
  • Fabian Obispo - The Chinese Lady
  • Mikaal Sulaiman - Sanctuary City
  • Darron L West - Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992

Outstanding Projection Design

  • David Bengali and Hana S. Kim - The Visitor
  • Shawn Duan - Letters of Suresh
  • Shawn Duan - The Chinese Lady
  • Yee Eun Nam - Long Day's Journey Into Night
  • Caite Hevner - Kristina Wong, Sweatshop Overlord

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy