Ryann Redmond, Joe Carroll & Noah J. Ricketts debut in Disney's Frozen on Broadway

Ryann Redmond makes history as the first woman to ever play the role of Olaf the Snowman.

Joe Carroll, Ryann Redmond & Noah J. Ricketts

Do You Want to Build a Snow(wo)man? Ryann Redmond makes history tonight as the first woman to ever play Olaf, the beloved snowman. She joins the Broadway premiere production of Frozen at the St. James Theatre tonight, assuming the role from original cast member Greg Hildreth, following Disney Theatrical's gender-swap casting announcement.

In addition, Joe Carroll replaces John Riddle as Hans, whilst company member Noah J. Ricketts steps up and takes over the role of Kristoff from Jelani Alladin. Hildreth, Riddle and Alladin all played their final performances on Broadway on February 17, 2019.

Ms. Redmond's previous Broadway credits include Escape to MargaritavilleIf/Then, and Bring It On. Mr. Carroll has previously been seen in the Broadway productions of Bandstand, Rodgers & Hammerstein's CinderellaRomeo and Juliet, and Once. And Mr. Ricketts previously appeared in both the Broadway and National Tour productions of Beautiful The Carole King Musical

The principal cast of Frozen currently includes Caissie Levy (as Elsa), Patti Murin (as Anna), Noah J. Ricketts (as Kristoff), Ryann Redmond (as Olaf), Joe Carroll (as Hans), Robert Creighton (as Duke of Weselton), Kevin Del Aguila (as Oaken), Timothy Hughes (as Pabbie), Andrew Pirozzi / Adam Jepsen (alternating as Sven), Zoe Glick and Leila Rose Gross (alternating as Young Anna), Mimi Ryder and Jenna Weir (alternating as Young Elsa), with Alyssa Fox (as Elsa standby) and Aisha Jackson (as Anna standby).

Disney's Frozen began previews at the St. James Theatre on February 22, 2018, and officially opened on March 22.

Based on the Academy Award-winning animated classic, Frozen features a book by the film’s writer and co-director Jennifer Lee, along with music and lyrics by Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez, who also penned the film’s soundtrack.

Synopsis: "Inspired by Hans Christian Andersen's fairy tale The Snow Queen, the musical tells the story of fearless princess Anna who sets off on an epic journey alongside a rugged iceman, his loyal pet reindeer, and a naïve snowman to find her estranged sister Elsa, whose icy powers have inadvertently trapped the kingdom in eternal winter."

Under the direction of Tony Award winner Michael Grandage, the creative team features choreography by Tony Award winner Rob Ashford, scenic and costume design by two-time Tony Award winner Christopher Oram, lighting design by five-time Tony Award winner Natasha Katz, sound design by four-time Tony Award nominee Peter Hylenski, music supervision and vocal & incidental arrangements by two-time Tony Award winner Stephen Oremus, orchestrations by Dave Metzger, music consultation by Chris Montan, music direction by Brian Usifer, video design by Tony Award winner Finn Ross, puppet design by Michael Curry, hair design by David Brian Brown, make-up design by Anne Ford-Coates and special effects design by Jeremy Chernick.

The 2013 animated film picked up two Academy Awards at the 2014 ceremony: "Best Animated Feature Film" and "Best Original Song" (for "Let It Go").

The musical also features such popular songs as "For the First Time in Forever," "Love Is an Open Door," and "Do You Want to Build a Snowman?," amongst others.

Caissie Levy, Patti Murin and the company of Disney's Frozen
(Photo by Deen van Meer​)

Disney's Frozen Tickets are available now for performances through to August 11, 2019.

(Headshots courtesy of Disney Theatrical)