This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

LaChanze, Ariana DeBose & Storm Lever in Summer: The Donna Summer Musical

Summer: The Donna Summer Musical announces Broadway closing date

The disco-infused bio-musical Summer will play its final performance at Broadway's Lunt-Fontanne Theatre on December 30, 2018.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Last Dance, anyone? Producers of the Broadway premiere of new bio-musical Summer: The Donna Summer Musical have announced a closing date of December 30, 2018 at the Lunt-Fontanne Theatre and a North American Tour from September 30, 2019. Summer began previews on Broadway on March 28, 2018, ahead of an official opening on April 23 and, upon closing, will have played a total of 27 previews and 289 regular performances.

Summer, directed by Des McAnuff and choreographed by Sergio Trujillo, features a book by Colman Domingo, Robert Cary and Des McAnuff, with songs by Donna Summer, Giorgio Moroder, Paul Jabara and others.

Synopsis: "Told through the dramatic lens of her final concert, Summer: The Donna Summer Musical presents the complexities and conflicts the iconic songwriter and singer faced in her meteoric rise - and descent. Featuring three actresses in the title role and a score with more than 20 of Summer's classic hits including "Love to Love You, Baby," "Bad Girls" and "Hot Stuff," this electric experience is a moving tribute to the voice of a generation."

The principal cast is led by Tony Award winner LaChanze (as "Diva Donna"), Ariana DeBose (as "Disco Donna"), and Storm Lever (as "Duckling Donna"), alongside Aaron Krohn (as Neil), Ken Robinson (as Andrew Gaines), and Jared Zirilli (as Bruce Sudano).

The creative team features music supervision by Ron Melrose, scenic design by Robert Brill, costume design by Paul Tazewell, lighting design by Howell Binkley, sound design by Gareth Owen and projections by Sean Nieuwenhuis.

Summer: The Donna Summer Musical Tickets are available now for performances through to December 30, 2018.

(Photo by Joan Marcus)

Originally published on