This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Noma Dumezweni, Victor Garber & Denise Gough

NYTG at The 74th Annual Theatre World Awards

The Theatre World Awards 2018 ceremony was held at Broadway's Circle in the Square on Monday, June 4, 2018.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

The 74th Annual Theatre World Awards hit the beach today for a special ceremony with a tropical twist as the 2018 honorees for "Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performances" flocked to the Circle in the Square Theatre - home of the Tony-nominated Broadway revival of Once on This Island - and we were there to greet and congratulate them. 2012 Theatre World Award recipient and Tony Award nominee Philip Boykin, who currently stars as Tonton Julian in Once on This Island, also performed for the occasion. 

As previously announced, the twelve Theatre World Award Honorees for 2018 are: 

Anthony Boyle, Harry Potter and The Cursed Child

Jamie BrewerAmy and the Orphans

Noma Dumezweni, Harry Potter and The Cursed Child

Johnny FlynnHangmen

Denise GoughAngels in America

Harry Hadden-Paton, My Fair Lady

Hailey KilgoreOnce on This Island

James McArdleAngels in America

Lauren RidloffChildren of a Lesser God

Ethan SlaterSpongeBob SquarePants

Charlie Stemp, Hello, Dolly!

Katy Sullivan, Cost of Living

In addition, four time Tony Award nominee Victor Garber (currently starring as Horace Vandergelder in Hello, Dolly!) was also honored with the "John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement In The Theatre", celebrating his 46th year on the Broadway stage. Mr. Garber is the sixth person to receive the prestigious award following previous recipients Glenn CloseBernadette PetersChita RiveraChristopher Plummer, and Alan Alda.

Ben Edelman, star of Lincoln Center Theater's Drama Desk Award-winning "Best Play" Admissions was also honored with the "Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater.

Check out our photos of all the 2018 Honorees...

Of course, in order for awards to be presented to these talented bunch of Honorees, you also need another essential ingredient... some presenters! And take a look at some of the esteemed collective the Theatre World Awards managed to enlist for this year's ceremony...

Founded by John Willis and first presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards are presented annually at the end of each theatre season to six actors and six actresses for their outstanding debut performances in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production.

(Photos by Tom Millward)


Originally published on