Michael Urie

Michael Urie to host The 64th Annual Drama Desk Awards

The 64th Annual Drama Desk Awards ceremony will be held on Sunday, June 2, 2019 at The Town Hall.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Drama Desk Award winner Michael Urie will return to host The 64th Annual Drama Desk Awards ceremony for a fourth consecutive time, it has been announced today.

Mr. Urie commented: "I'll certainly be more chill hosting the Drama Desks for a fourth time. In fact, this year I'm going to introduce myself to Glenda Jackson!"

Michael Urie was last seen on the New York stage as Arnold beckoff in Harvey Fierstein's Torch Song, which played its final performance at the Hayes Theater on January 6, 2019. He earned Drama Desk Awards in 2013 for Buyer & Cellar (in the category of "Outstanding Solo Performance") and in 2010 for The Temperamentals ("Outstanding Ensemble Performance"). He has also appeared on Broadway as Bud Frump in How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying in 2012 and is also well known for his recurring TV role as Marc St. James in "Ugly Betty". His other off-Broadway credits include The Government InspectorShows for DaysThe Cherry Orchard, and Angels in America.

As previously reportedThe 64th Annual Drama Desk Awards ceremony will take place on Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 8pm at The Town Hall. Nominations for these awards will be revealed on Thursday, April 25 (with the cut-off date for eligibility as April 24).

The Drama Desk nominating committee is composed of Linda Buchwald (Chairperson), Peter Filichi, Helen Shaw, Jose Solis, Martha Wade Stekete, Zachary Stewart, Doug Strassler, and Charles Wright.

Drama Desk was founded in 1949 to explore key issues in the theater and to bring together critics and writers in an organization to support the ongoing development of theater in New York. The organization began presenting its awards in 1955, and it is the only critics' organization to honor achievement in the theater with competition among Broadway, Off Broadway and Off-Off Broadway productions in the same categories.

Previous Drama Desk Award winners include the likes of Lin-Manuel Miranda, Bernadette Peters, Cynthia Erivo, Nathan Lane, Kevin Kline, Laura Linney, Bette Midler, Danny DeVito, Cynthia Nixon, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Dustin Hoffman, Al Pacino, and Helen Mirren.

Last year's winners included Andrew Garfield and Nathan Lane (for Angels in America), Glenda Jackson (for Edward Albee's Three Tall Women), Jessie Mueller and Lindsay Mendez (for Rodgers & Hammerstein's Carousel), and Mean Girls scribe Tina Fey, among others.

(Photo courtesy of Keith Sherman & Associates)

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy