Jonathan Groff, Tammy Blanchard & Christian Borle

Little Shop of Horrors, starring Jonathan Groff, begins performances off-Broadway

The Off-Broadway revival of cult classic Little Shop of Horrors is set for an official opening at the Westside Theatre on October 17, 2019.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Welcome to Skid Row! The highly anticipated Off-Broadway revival of the cult classic musical Little Shop of Horrors begins previews at the Westside Theatre tonight. An official opening is set for October 17, 2019, and the production is currently booking through January 19, 2020.

The cast of Little Shop of Horrors includes two-time Tony Award nominee Jonathan Groff (as Seymour), Emmy Award winner Tammy Blanchard (as Audrey), two-time Tony Award winner Christian Borle (as Orin Scrivello D.D.S.), Tom Alan Robbins (as Mushnik), Kingsley Leggs (as The Voice of Audrey II), Ari Groover (as Ronnette), Salome Smith (as Crystal), and Joy Woods (as Chiffon), alongside Stephen BergerChris DwanKris RobertsChelsea TurbinEric Wright, and Teddy Yudain.

As previously reported, Tony Award nominee Gideon Glick will cover the role of Seymour during Jonathan Groff's planned leave of absence from November 5 through November 17, with Groff returning on November 19.

Little Shop of Horrors, which first premiered Off-Broadway in 1982, features music by Alan Menken, and a book & lyrics by Howard Ashman. This new production is directed by Michael Mayer and also features choreography by Ellenore Scott, music supervision, orchestrations & arrangements by Will Van Dyke, scenic design by Julian Crouch, lighting design by Bradley King, costume design by Tom Broecker, sound design by Jessica Paz, and puppet design by Nicholas Mahon.

Synopsis: "Seymour is a down-on-his-luck florist with a crush on his co-worker Audrey. When he discovers a mysterious - and voracious - plant, suddenly Seymour and Audrey are thrust into an epic battle that will determine the fate of the entire human race."

Little Shop of Horrors is produced Off-Broadway by Tom Kirdahy, Robert Ahrens, Hunter Arnold, Mickey Liddell, Curt Cronin and John Joseph.

Little Shop of Horrors Tickets are available now for performances through January 19, 2020.

(Photos courtesy of Vivacity Media Group)


Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy