This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Hugh Panaro & more debut in Sweeney Todd tonight

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

New cast members join the Tooting Arts Club production of Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street at the Barrow Street Theatre tonight.

Hugh Panaro takes on the title role, whilst Jake Boyd now stars as Anthony, Eryn LeCroy assumes the role of Johanna, Michael James Leslie takes over as Judge Turpin and John Rapson takes on the role of The Beadle.

They join current cast members Tony nominee Carolee Carmello (as Mrs. Lovett), Stacie Bono (as Pirelli & Beggar Woman) and John-Michael Lyles (as Tobias), who all continue in their respective roles.

Ensemble members of Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street include Matt Leisy, Liz Pearce, Danny Rothman, Monet Sabel and Anne Tolpegin.

Following its critically acclaimed, sold-out engagement at Harrington's Pie and Mash Shop in London - the oldest continuously operating pie shop in Britain - previews began at the specially re-created working pie shop environment within off-Broadway's Barrow Street Theatre on February 14, 2017, before an official opening on March 1. The production is currently booking through to December 31, 2017.

The classic musical features music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim and a book by Hugh Wheeler. The Tooting Arts Club production features an adaptation by Christopher Bond and is directed by Bill Buckhurst.

Synopsis: "Sweeney Todd follows a wronged barber who takes to slitting throats while seeking revenge on the corrupt judge who destroyed his life and family."

The creative team behind Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street features music direction by Matt Aument, music supervision & arrangements by Benjamin Cox, scenic & costume design by Simon Kenny, lighting design by Amy Mae Smith and sound design by Matt Stine.

Traditional pie and mash is served prior to each performance, with William "Bill" Yosses serving as Official Pie Maker.

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street originally premiered on Broadway in 1979 at the Uris Theatre (now the Gershwin), starring Len Cariou as Sweeney Todd and Angela Lansbury as Mrs. Lovett. The production went on to win 8 Tony Awards including Best Musical, Best Book of a Musical and Best Original Score. It has been revived twice on the Great White Way - 1989 at Circle in the Square and 2005 at the Eugene O'Neill Theatre. The musical made its West End debut and won the Olivier Award for Best New Musical in 1980. London revivals were staged in 1993, 2004 and most recently in 2012, with the latter picking up three Olivier Awards including Best Muscial Revival. Tim Burton directed the 2007 movie adaptation, starring Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter, which received two Golden Globe Awards and three Oscar nominations.


Originally published on