'Hairspray' is now sbooking to the 25 Jun 2006

Hairspray, the Broadway Musical playing at the Neil Simon Theatre is now selling tickets to the 25 Jun 2006.

Hairspray opened at the Neil Simon Theatre on the 15 Aug 2002, following previews from the 18 Jul. The show is currently booking to the 31 Dec 2005.

In Hairspray it's 1962�the '50s are out and change is in the air. Baltimore's Tracy Turnblad, a big girl with big hair and an even bigger heart, has only one passion�to dance. She wins a spot on the local TV dance program, "The Corny Collins Show" and, overnight, is transformed from outsider to irrepressible teen celebrity. But can a plus-size trendsetter in dance and fashion vanquish the program's reigning princess, win the heart of heartthrob Link Larkin, and integrate a television show without denting her 'do? Only in Hairspray! Welcome to the '60s!

Hairspray cast features: John Pinette (Edna), Shannon Durig (Tracy Turnblad), Stephen DeRosa (Wilbur Turnblad), Tracy Miller (Penny Pingleton), Richard H. Blake (Link Larkin), Darlene Love (Motormouth Maybelle), Jonathan Dokuchitz (Corny Collins), Chester Gregory II (Seaweed), Becky Gulsvig (Amber Von Tussle), Barbara Walsh (Velma Von Tussle), Julie Halston (Prudy Pingleton/Gym Teacher/Matron), Kevin Meaney (Harriman F. Spritzer, Mr. Pinky, and others) and Chloe Smith (Little Inez).

Hairspray is based on the New Line Cinema film written and directed by John Waters, who serves as a creative consultant on the musical comedy. It features a book by Mark O�Donnell and Thomas Meehan, and a score by five-time Academy Award nominee Marc Shaiman and lyrics by Shaiman and Scott Wittman. Hairspray is directed by Jack O�Brien and choreographed by Jerry Mitchell; scenic design is by David Rockwell; costume design is by William Ivey Long; lighting design is by Kenneth Posner; and sound design is by Steve C. Kennedy.

Hairspray, which celebrated its third anniversary on Broadway in August 2005, is the winner of eight 2003 Tony Awards, including best musical, best actor (Harvey Fierstein), best actress (Ms. Winokur), best featured actor (Dick Latessa), best score (Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman), best book (Mark O�Donnell and Thomas Meehan), best director (Jack O�Brien), and best costume design (William Ivey Long). The musical also swept every one of the year�s best musical awards, winning, in addition to the Tony, the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, the Drama Desk Award, the Outer Critics Circle Award, and the Drama League Award.

Hairspray is produced by Margo Lion; Adam Epstein; The Baruch�Viertel�Routh�Frankel Group; James D. Stern/Douglas L. Meyer; Rick Steiner/Frederic H. Mayerson; SEL & GFO; New Line Cinema, in association with Clear Channel Entertainment; A. Gordon/E. McAllister; D. Harris/M. Swinsky; J. & B. Osher.

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy