This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Gregg Edelman & Eric William Morris

Gregg Edelman & Eric William Morris complete the cast of The Perplexed

Manhattan Theatre Club's world premiere of The Perplexed is set to begin performances at New York City Center on February 11, 2020.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Manhattan Theatre Club has announced complete casting for its upcoming world premiere of The Perplexed, written by Tony Award winner Richard Greenberg and helmed by MTC's Artistic Director Lynne Meadow. Previews are scheduled to begin at New York City Center's Stage I on February 11, 2020, ahead of an official opening on March 3 and a limited engagement through March 29, 2020.

Joining previously announced cast members Patrick Breen (as James Arlen), Margaret Colin (as Evy Arlen-Stahl), Tess Frazer (as Isabelle Stahl), Anna Itty (as Patricia Waloo), Ilana Levine (as Natalie Hochberg-Resnik), Zane Pais (as Micah Stahl), JD Taylor (as Caleb Resnik), and Tony Award winner Frank Wood (as Joseph Stahl) will be four-time Tony Award nominee Gregg Edelman (as Ted Resnik) and Eric William Morris (as Cyrus Bloom).

Mr. Edelman earned Tony nominations for his performances in Into the Woods (2002), 1776 (1998), Anna Karenina (1993), and City of Angels (1990). Mr. Morris was last seen on Broadway as Carl Denham in King Kong.

Synopsis: "Two families, whose lives have been tumultuously intertwined for decades, gather in the massive library of a gaudy Fifth Avenue apartment to celebrate the nuptials of their children. Nothing goes smoothly and as the big moment approaches, the burning question is: can everyone put aside long-smoldering jealousies and deep-seated grudges and just get through the ceremony?"

The creative team behind The Perplexed features scenic design by Santo Loquasto, costume design by Rita Ryack, lighting design by Kenneth Posner, and sound design by Fitz Patton.

The Perplexed Tickets are available now for performances from February 11 through March 29, 2020.

(Photos courtesy of Boneau/Bryan-Brown)


Originally published on