This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Drama League Awards 2016: Hilty & Levi to host

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Megan Hilty and Zachary Levi will host The 82nd Annual Drama League Awards ceremony, which will take place on 20 May 2016 at the Marriott Marquis in Times Square. Hilty starred in the Roundabout Theatre Company's revival of Noises Off this season, whilst Levi can currently be seen in the Roundabout's revival of She Loves Me.

The nominations for the five Drama League Awards categories - Outstanding Play, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Musical and the Distinguished Performance Award - will be announced at Sardi's restaurant on 20 April 2016.

The Drama League has already announced the three recipients of the 2016 Special Recognition Awards. Tony, Grammy and Pulitzer Prize winner Sheldon Harnick will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award. Olivier Award winner Ivo van Hove will be honored with the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing, and lastly, Deaf West Theatre will be awarded the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award.

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatergoer awards chosen by audience members — specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and off-Broadway productions.

The first Drama League Award was presented to Katharine Cornell in 1935. Since then, the Distinguished Performance Award has been accorded to a roster of theatre legends such as Audra McDonald, Liam Neeson, Hugh Jackman, Patti LuPone, Glenn Close, Liev Schreiber, Sir John Gielgud, Harvey Fierstein, Cherry Jones, Alec Guinness, James Earl Jones, Julie Harris, Helen Hayes, Jeremy Irons, Mary-Louise Parker, Sir Ian McKellen, Bernadette Peters, and Christopher Plummer.

- by Tom Millward

Megan HiltyZachary Levi

Originally published on