This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Date set for The 83rd Annual Drama League Awards

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

The date for The 83rd Annual Drama League Awards ceremony has now been confirmed as 19 May 2017 at the Marriott Marquis in Times Square, beginning at 11:30am. The five awards up for grabs will be:

- Outstanding Play
- Outstanding Revival of a Play
- Outstanding Musical
- Outstanding Revival of a Musical
- Distinguished Performance Award

The cut-off date for eligibility for the Awards is Monday, 17 April and the nominees will be announced at Sardi's restaurant on Wednesday, 19 April 2017.

The Drama League Awards were first awarded back in 1922 and were formalised as such in 1935, becoming the oldest theatrical honors in the United States. They remain the only major theatergoer awards chosen together by both industry professionals and audience members — specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and Off-Broadway productions.

Recipients of the coveted "Distinguished Performance Award" over the years has included a roster of theatre legends such as Audra McDonald, Liam Neeson, Hugh Jackman, Patti LuPone, Glenn Close, Liev Schreiber, Sir John Gielgud, Harvey Fierstein, Cherry Jones, Alec Guinness, James Earl Jones, Julie Harris, Helen Hayes, Jeremy Irons, Mary-Louise Parker, Sir Ian McKellen, Bernadette Peters, Nathan Lane, Chita Rivera, Neil Patrick Harris, Christopher Plummer and Lin-Manuel Miranda.

- by Tom Millward

Originally published on