Cymbeline announces featured cast

The Lincoln Theater center (LTC) have announced the featured cast for their upcoming production of William Shakespeare's comedy Cymbeline. Mark Lamos is to direct the the comedy which will open on 2 Dec 2007 at the Vivian Beaumont Theatre, following previews from 1 Nov and run through to 6 Jan 2008.

The cast of 26 will feature Jonathan Cake, Michael Cerveris, John Cullum, Martha Plimpton and Phylicia Rashad.

The press release reads "One of William Shakespeare's most unusual and spectacular plays, this late Romance combines comedy, tragedy and history into an epic tale of power and magic,", "Its action sweeping across Britain and Italy, as two warring powers clash until its eventual joyful conclusion. The characters in Cymbeline include a Lear-like monarch (John Cullum), a wicked queen (Phylicia Rashad), an Iago-like villain (Jonathan Cake), a deceived husband (Michael Cerveris), and a heroine, the king's daughter Imogen, Shakespeare's last great female role (Martha Plimpton)."

Cymbeline: An evil stepmother, an invading army, a headless corpse, ghosts and a divine visit from Jupiter hurtle us towards an astonishing conclusion in this saga of politics, the supernatural and love. Lynchpin of the story is one of Shakespeare's greatest female characters, the impulsive and sensual Imogen.

The design team will comprise Michael Yeargan (sets), Jess Goldstein (costumes), Brian MacDevitt (lighting) and Tony Smolenski IV and Walter Trarbach (sound). Further casting to be announced.

Jonathan Cake made his Broadway debut as Jason in Medea (2002).

Michael Cerveris was seen on Broadway earlier this year when he played Kurt Weill in 'LoveMusik' for which he was nominated for Tony (2007), he was also nominated for a Tony for the lead role in 'Sweeney Todd' (Revival 2005). His previous Broadway credits include 'Assassins' (2004) for which he won a Tony Award for Best Featured Actor in a Musical, Titanic (1997) and The Who's Tommy (1993).

John Cullum (King) won his first Tony Award for his performance as Charlie Anderson in Shenandoah (1974), and his second for his performance as Oscar Jaffee in On the Twentieth Century (1978). He was nominated for a Tony Award for his role as Caldwell B. Cladwell in the Broadway musical Urinetown (2001). He was last seen on Broadway playing H. C. Curry in '110 in the Shade' (2007 revival), for which he was nominated for 2007 Tony Award for Best Featured Actor in a Musical.

Martha Plimpton (Imogen) made her Broadway debut in 2004 with '16 Wounded' at the Walter Kerr Theatre, she next appeared in Shining City (2005) as Neasa. She was nominated for a Tony Award for Best Featured Actress in a Play for her role as Varenka in the LTC's production of Stoppard's Coast of Utopa (2006).

Phylicia Rashad (Queen) won a Tony Award for Best Actress in a Play for her role as Lena Younger in A Raisin in the Sun (2004 revival), and was nominated for a Tony for for Best Actress in a Play for her role as Aunt Ester in 'Gem of the Ocean' (2004).

Mr. Lamos' (Director) most recent Lincoln Center Theater Broadway productions include Edward Albee�s Seascape and Sheridan�s The Rivals. His other Broadway credits include: Our Country's Good (1991); The Deep Blue Sea (1998 revival); The Gershwins' Fascinating Rhythm (1999). Lamos served as artistic director of Hartford Stage Company from 1980 to 1997. The company received the 1989 Tony Regional Theatre Award under his tenure.

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy