This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Chlumsky to replace Byrne in You Can’t Take It With You

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Producers of the Broadway revival of Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman's Pulitzer Prize winning comedy You Can't Take It With You, have announced two upcoming cast changes to take place on Tuesday, 6 January 2015.

Firstly, making her Broadway debut, Emmy nominee Anna Chlumsky will take on the role of Alice Sycamore. Golden Globe and Emmy nominee Rose Byrne will play her final performance as Alice on 4 January 2015. Ms Chlumsky rose to fame as a child star in 1991 alongside Macaulay Culkin in 'My Girl.' Nowadays she is perhaps best known for her TV role as Amy Brookheimer on 'Veep,' as well as the 2009 film 'In The Loop.'

Secondly, Emmy winner and Golden Globe nominee Richard Thomas will take on the role of Paul Sycamore, replacing Mark Linn-Baker, who will also play his last performance on 4 January 2015. Mr Thomas is perhaps most widely known for his TV role as John-Boy Walton in 'The Waltons,' which ran from 1971 to 1978. He returns to the Broadway stage, where he made his debut in 1958's 'Sunrise at Campobello,' which also starred James Earl Jones. Other Broadway credits include 'An Enemy of the People,' 'Race,' 'A Naked Girl on the Appian Way,' 'Democracy,' 'Love Letters,' 'The Front Page,' 'Fifth of July,' 'Everything in the Garden,' 'The Playroom,' and 'Strange Interlude.'

You Can't Take It With You opened at the Longacre Theatre on 28 September 2014, following previews from 26 August 2014, to excellent reviews. The limited nineteen-week run will end on 22 February 2015.

The current cast includes James Earl Jones (Martin Vanderhof), Rose Byrne (Alice Sycamore), Elizabeth Ashley (The Grand Duchess Olga), Annaleigh Ashford (Essie Carmichael), Byron Jennings (Mr Kirby), Mark Linn-Baker (Paul Sycamore), Kristine Nielsen (Penelope Sycamore), Reg Rogers (Boris Kolenkhov), Crystal A. Dickinson (Rheba), Julie Halstonv (Gay Wellington), Marc Damon Johnson (Donald), Patrick Kerr (Mr De Pinna), Will Brill (Ed Carmichael), Fran Kranz (Tony Kirby), Johanna Day (Mrs Kirby) and Nick Corley, Austin Durant, Joe Tapper as the three G-Men.

You Can't Take It With You follows the Sycamores and the Kirbys - two completely different families whose worlds collide when their children become engaged. James Earl Jones plays Grandpa Vanderhof, leader of a happily eccentric gang of snake collectors, cunning revolutionaries, ballet dancers and skyrocket makers. As the youngest daughter brings her fiancé and his buttoned-up parents over for dinner, fireworks start to fly.

The original production of the play opened at the Booth Theater on 14 December 1936 and ran for 837 performances, taking home the 1937 Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

This production is being produced by Jeffrey Richards, Jerry Frankel, Jam Theatricals, Dominion Pictures, Jay and Cindy Gutterman, Daryl Roth, Terry Schnuck, Jane Bergere, Caiola Productions, Rebecca Gold, LaRuffa Hinderliter, Gabrielle Palitz, Spisto & Kierstead, SunnySpot Productions, VenuWorks Theatricals, Jessica Genick and Will Trice.

You Can't Take It With You is directed by David Rockwell, with scenic design by David Rockwell, lighting by Donald Holder, costume by Jane Greenwood and sound by Jon Weston.

- by Tom Millward

Anna Chlumsky

Originally published on