Beth Leavel & Brooks Ashmanskas in The Prom

Beth Leavel, Brooks Ashmanskas and more will star in The Prom on Broadway

Principals have been confirmed for the Broadway premiere of The Prom, officially opening on November 15, 2018.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Producers have announced principal casting who will be attending The Prom on Broadway - a new musical comedy, directed and choreographed by Tony Award winner Casey Nicholaw, which will officially open at a yet-to-be-named Shubert theater on November 15, 2018.

The cast includes Tony Award nominee Brooks Ashmanskas (as Barry Glickman), Tony Award winner Beth Leavel (as Dee Dee Allen), two-time Tony Award nominee Christopher Sieber (as Trent Oliver), Caitlin Kinnunen (as Emma), Isabelle McCalla (as Alyssa Greene), Michael Potts (as Mr. Hawkins), Angie Schworer (as Angie), Courtenay Collins (as Mrs. Greene) and Josh Lamon (as Sheldon Saperstein). All the cast members are reprising their respective roles from the 2016 Alliance Theatre world premiere, with the exceptions of Michael Potts and Isabelle McCalla. Additional casting will be announced at a later date.

Casey Nicholaw previously released the following statement: "Bob Martin, Matthew Sklar and Chad Beguelin have created an original musical comedy that is equal parts witty, joyful and fun, filled with so much heart. The Prom is a celebration of individuality and the power of being you, which is a story that we all need to be telling right now."

Based on an original concept by Jack Viertel, The Prom features a a book by Tony Award winner Bob Martin and Tony Award nominee Chad Beguelin, music by Tony Award nominee Matthew Sklar and lyrics by Beguelin.

Synopsis: "We've got trouble, folks, right here in Indiana and when Broadway's brassiest hear a student is unceremoniously sidelined from a small-town Indiana prom - and the press is involved - they are ready to kick-ball-change the world. A new musical comedy about the power of love (and a good 11 o'clock number), The Prom is about so much more than just a dance."

The creative team features music direction by Mary-Mitchell Campbell, orchestrations by Tony Award winner Larry Hochman, scenic design by Tony Award winner Scott Pask, costume design by Tony Award winner Ann Roth & Matthew Pachtman, lighting design by Tony Award winner Kenneth Posner, sound design by Tony Award nominee Peter Hylenski, wig and hair design by Josh Marquette, and make-up design by Milagros Medina-Cerdeira.

(Photo by Greg Mooney)

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy