World Premiere of For The Last Time at Theatre Row

Off-Broadway's Theatre Row will stage the world premiere of new jazz musical For The Last Time, featuring music and lyrics by Nancy Harrow and a book by Will Pomerantz & Nancy Harrow. Previews begin at Theatre Row's Clurman Theatre on 19 May 2015, before officially opening on 28 May, and continuing its limited engagement through to 20 June 2015.

Directed and choreographed by Will Pomerantz and inspired by Nathaniel Hawthorne's novel, 'The Marble Faun', the new jazz musical is "set In 1950's New Orleans, where four young artists create an Eden of music and art. But the past forces its way into their lives, and an act of passion changes everything."

The show's co-creator Nancy Harrow released the following statement:

“This is a thrill for me to hear my songs sung by these gifted actor/singers. And to hear all the music played by our fantastic group of young jazz musicians. I am so grateful to Dennis Mackrel for his amazing arrangements which manage to sound fresh and still are faithful to Roland Hanna’s original conception for the jazz album we did some years ago. This is my fourth collaboration with inspiring colleague Will Pomerantz, and I think with this show we have captured a rare energy where jazz and theater meet.”

Co-creator Will Pomerantz added:

“Nancy Harrow is a unique talent. As a singer, she has recorded with some of the greatest jazz musicians in the history of the art form. As a songwriter, she taps into this deep well of experience, as well as her love of literature. Nancy is able to conjure character and story breathtakingly through song, and only Nancy could have figured out how to marry jazz and Nathaniel Hawthorne! With this wonderful company of actors and musicians, Hawthorne’s tale of love and crime is sure to sing.”

The cast of For The Last Time features Brittany Campbell, Carl Clemons-Hopkins, Kim Exum, Britton Smith, Anita Welch, Reggie D. White, and Jason Veasey.

The creative team behind For The Last Time features arrangements/orchestrations by Dennis Mackrel, music direction by Cody Owen Stine, scenic design by John McDermott, costume design by Whitney Locher, lighting design by Jimmy Lawlor, and sound design by Kevin Heard.

The jazz musical is produced off-Broadway by Clement Arts.

- by Tom Millward

Carl Clemons-Hopkins, Kim Exum, Anita Welch, Brittany Campbell, Reggie D. White and Britton Smith