Johanna Day and More will join Lois Smith in The New Group production of Peace for Mary Frances

The world premiere of Peace for Mary Frances begins performances on May 8, 2018 at Pershing Square Signature Center.

Johanna Day

The New Group has announced additional casting for its forthcoming world premiere of Peace for Mary Frances, written by Lily Thorne and directed by Lila Neugebauer, which is set to begin previews at The Pershing Square Signature Center's Alice Griffin Jewel Box Theatre on May 8, 2018, ahead of an official opening on May 23 and a limited engagement through to June 17, 2018.

Joining Lois Smith, who will play the titular role in the production, will be Heather Burns (as Helen), Johanna Day (as Franny), Natalie Gold (as Rosie), Mia Katigbak (as Bonnie), Paul Lazar (as Eddie), Brian Miskell (as Michael), Melle Powers (as Clara) and J. Smith-Cameron (as Alice).

Synopsis: "Mary Frances has lived a good life; she's ninety years old and ready to die. Born to refugees fleeing the Armenian genocide, her last wish is to die peacefully at home surrounded by her family. Her dream collides with reality as three generations of explosive women flood her small New England home to battle for their family’s legacy. Mary Frances must navigate the volatile relationships of the children she raised -- or die trying. Mary Frances is a tenacious survivor struggling to break the bonds that tie her to this life in this wrenching and caustically funny portrait of an American family in crisis."

The creative team behind Peace for Mary Frances has also been announced and features scenic design by Dane Laffrey, costume design by Jessica Pabst, lighting design by Tyler Micoleau and sound design by Daniel Kluger.

The New Group's current production of Good for Otto, starring Ed Harris, continues at the Alice Griffin Jewel Box Theatre through to April 15, 2018.