Sophia Anne Caruso & Jeremy Pope

Theatre World Awards 2019 recipients revealed

The 74th Annual Theatre World Awards ceremony will be held on Monday, June 3, 2019.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

The New York Theatre Guide would like to congratulate the twelve Theatre World Award Honorees for 2019, revealed today, for "Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performances". The recipients will be celebrated at The 75th Annual Theatre World Awards ceremony on Monday, June 3, 2019.

In addition, three-time Tony Award winner Nathan Lane (currently starring in the titular role of Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus at the Booth Theatre on Broadway) will be honored with the John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement In The Theatre, celebrating his incredible Broadway career which dates back to 1982. Mr. Lane is the seventh person to receive the prestigious award following previous recipients Victor GarberGlenn CloseBernadette PetersChita RiveraChristopher Plummer, and Alan Alda.

The Theatre World Award recipients for the 2018-2019 season are:

Gbenga Akinnagbe, To Kill A Mockingbird

Tom Glynn-Carney, The Ferryman

Sophia Anne Caruso, Beetlejuice

Paddy Considine, The Ferryman

James Davis, Oklahoma!

Micaela Diamond, The Cher Show

Bonnie Milligan, Head Over Heels

Simone Missick, Paradise Blue

Jeremy Pope, Choir Boy

Colton Ryan, Girl from The North Country

Stephanie Styles, Kiss Me, Kate

Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Fleabag


(Sophia Anne Caruso & Jeremy Pope photos by Matthew Murphy)


Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy