Hit The Wall to play final performance on 28 Apr 2013

The new play, Hit the Wall by Ike Holter, a theatrical exploration of the first night of the 1969 Stonewall Riots, wil play its final performance on 28 Apr 2013. The show had been selling tickets through to 07 Jul 2013.

Hit the Wall opened at the Barrow Street Theatre on 10 Mar 2013, following previews from 19 Feb 2013.

The show received mixed reviews: Acquires an exciting visceral charge (NY Times); Packs a powerful punch (New York Post) Sentimental and misleading (Back Stage) The writing is clumsy, the performances are spotty (Variety).

Hit the Wall tells the story of the night of the 1969 Stonewwall Riots: It's the early hours of June 28, 1969 when a routine police raid on The Stonewall Inn, a popular underground gay bar in Greenwich Village, sparks a full-scale riot. Violent protests and street demonstrations continued for the next several days in what became known as The Stonewall Riots, thrusting a group of unlikely revolutionaries onto the frontlines of history and igniting one of the most influential social and political movements of the 20th Century.

The Barrow Street Theatre is located in the heart of the Greenwich Village and mere steps away from the site of the riots. For over 40 years, millions have gathered annually in that iconic New York neighborhood on the last Sunday in June to honor The Stonewall Riots. In June 2011, thousands gathered at The Stonewall Inn, still in operation, to celebrate the passage of the right to Same-Sex Marriage in the State of New York under the Marriage Equality Act.

Directed by Eric Hoff, and with original music & music supervision by Dan Lipton, Hit the Wall features Nick Bailey, Jessica Dickey, Ben Diskant, Nathan Lee Graham, Matthew Greer, Gregory Haney, Sean Allan Krill, Rania Salem Manganaro, Ray Rizzo, Carolyn Michelle Smith, Arturo Soria and Indigo Street.

The creative team includes Lauren Helpern (Set), David Hyman (Costumes), Keith Parham (Lighting) and Daniel Kluger and Brandon Wolcott (Sound).

Hit the Wall is presented Off-Broadway by Scott Morfee, Jean Doumanian, Tom Wirtshafter, Patrick Daly, Burnt Umber, Roger E. Kass, BarLor Productions, Starry Night Entertainment, Christian Chadd Taylor, SKandal Theatrical, and Marc & Lisa Biales.

Cast of Hit The Wall More production photos

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy