Hairspray: Haylie Duff, Lisa Jolley, Aaron Tveitto and Diana DeGarmo to join cast

Haylie Duff is to make her Broadway debut playing Tracy Turnblad�s stuck-up arch-nemesis Amber Von Tussle in Hairspray from 18 Jul 2006.

It has also been announced that Lisa Jolley will step into the roles of 'Prudy Pingleton, Gym Teacher, and Matron' on 4 July 2006. Aaron Tveit will begin playing Link Larkin from 18 Jul 2006 and Diana DeGarmo will return to the company on 8 Sep 2006.

Haylie Duff's TV credits include recurring roles on Boston Public, Lizzie McGuire, Joan of Arcadia and 7th Heaven. Among her film credits is Napoleon Dynamite. she stars in the movie Material Girl, which is due for release this summer.

Lisa Jolley's off-Broadway credits include The Plank Project, The Dilemma of Drugs, Harriet The Spy, Kings Crossings and The Girl Who Came To Supper, her fully improvised solo show, 'Jolley On The Spot', has been performed in New York, Los Angeles and Chicago.

Aaron Tveit plays Link Larkin in the touring production of the musical. Other Theatre credits include Rent (national tour).

Diana DeGarmo was the runner up on American Idol. She recently played Penny Pingleton in the Broadway production of Hairspray from 7 Feb - 14 May this year.

Hairspray opened at the Neil Simon Theatre on the 15 Aug 2002, following previews from the 18 Jul. The show is currently booking to the 31 Dec 2006.

In Hairspray Baltimore's Tracy Turnblad, a big girl with big hair and an even bigger heart, has only one passion -- to dance. She wins a spot on the local TV dance programme, 'The Corny Collins Show' and, overnight, is transformed from outsider to irrepressible teen celebrity. But can a trendsetter in dance and fashion vanquish the program's reigning princess, win the heart of heartthrob Link Larkin, and integrate a television show?

Hairspray currently stars Shannon Durig as Tracy Turnblad, Blake Hammond as Edna Turnblad, Stephen DeRosa as Wilbur Turnblad, Andrew Rannells as Link Larkin, Tevin Campbell as Seaweed J. Stubbs, Becky Gulsvig as Amber Von Tussle, Caissie Levy as Penny Pingleton, Darlene Love as Motormouth Maybelle, Jonathan Dokuchitz (Corny Collins), Tevin Campbell as Seaweed J. Stubbs and Isabel Keating as Velma Von Tussle.

Hairspray is based on the New Line Cinema film written and directed by John Waters, who serves as a creative consultant on the musical comedy. It features a book by Mark O�Donnell and Thomas Meehan, and a score by five-time Academy Award nominee Marc Shaiman and lyrics by Shaiman and Scott Wittman. Hairspray is directed by Jack O�Brien and choreographed by Jerry Mitchell; scenic design is by David Rockwell; costume design is by William Ivey Long; lighting design is by Kenneth Posner; and sound design is by Steve C. Kennedy.

Hairspray which celebrates its fourth anniversary on Broadway in August 2006, is the winner of eight 2003 Tony Awards. The musical also swept every one of the year�s best musical awards, winning, in addition to the Tony, the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, the Drama Desk Award, the Outer Critics Circle Award, and the Drama League Award.

Hairspray is produced by Margo Lion; Adam Epstein; The Baruch, Viertel, Routh & Frankel Group; James D. Stern/Douglas L. Meyer; Rick Steiner/Frederic H. Mayerson; SEL & GFO; New Line Cinema, in association with Clear Channel Entertainment; A. Gordon/E. McAllister; D. Harris/M. Swinsky; J. & B. Osher.

Haylie Duff

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy