Hairspray: Charlotte Crossley, Kate Loprest and Constantine Rousouli to join cast

The producers of Hairspray, winner of eight Tony Awards, including Best Musical, have announced that Charlotte Crossley is to join the cast on 2 Sep 2008 playing the role of 'Motormouth Maybelle,' Crossley assumes the role from Jenifer Lewis.

Crossley is a former 'Harlette,' Bette Midler's legendary back-up group. Crossley made her Broadway debut in the original Broadway cast of Jesus Christ Superstar (1971), her other Broadway credit include 'Tricks' (1973), 'Bette Midler's Clams on the Half Shell Revue' (1975) and 'The Color Purple' (2005).

They also announced that Kate Loprest and Constantine Rousouli will join the cast in the roles of 'Amber Von Tussle' and 'Link Larkin.'

Rousouli assumes the role of 'Link Larkin' from Ashley Parker Angel who plays his final performance on 14 Sep 2008. Rousouli, who joins the cast on 16 Sep 2008, his making his Broadway debut, he recently played the role for two years in the National Tour.

Loprest, who joins the cast on 19 Sep 2008, assumes the role of 'Amber Von Tussle' from Aubrey O�Day who plays her final performance on 31 Aug 2008. During the interregnum the role of 'Amber Von Tussle' will be played by understudies.

Loprest's made her Broadeay debut in 'Xanadu,' her regional credits include 'Wicked' in Chicago (Ensemble, u/s Glinda, Nessarose) and 'Happy Days' at Paper Mill Playhouse (Joanie).

Hairspray opened at the Neil Simon Theatre on the 15 Aug 2002, following previews from the 18 Jul. The show is currently booking to 4 Jan 2009.

In Hairspray Baltimore's Tracy Turnblad, a big girl with big hair and an even bigger heart, has only one passion -- to dance. She wins a spot on the local TV dance programme, 'The Corny Collins Show' and, overnight, is transformed from outsider to irrepressible teen celebrity. But can a trendsetter in dance and fashion vanquish the program's reigning princess, win the heart of heartthrob Link Larkin, and integrate a television show?

Hairspray currently features: George Wendt (Edna Turnblad), Marissa Perry (Tracy Turnblad ), Jim J. Bullock (Wilbur Turnblad), Niki Scalera (Penny Pingleton), Ashley Parker Angel (Link Larkin), Jenifer Lewis (Motormouth Maybelle), Clarke Thorell (Corny Collins), Tevin Campbell (Seaweed J. Stubbs), Aubrey O'Day (Amber Von Tussle), Karen Mason (Velma Von Tussle), Susan Mosher (Prudy Pingleton/Gym Teacher/Matron), Kevin Meaney (Harriman F. Spritzer, Mr. Pinky, and others) and Naturi Naughton (Inez).

The musical comedy is based on the New Line Cinema film written and directed by John Waters, who serves as a creative consultant on the musical comedy. It features a book by Mark O�Donnell and Thomas Meehan, and a score by five-time Academy Award nominee Marc Shaiman and lyrics by Shaiman and Scott Wittman. Hairspray is directed by Jack O�Brien and choreographed by Jerry Mitchell; scenic design is by David Rockwell; costume design is by William Ivey Long; lighting design is by Kenneth Posner; and sound design is by Steve C. Kennedy.

Hairspray is the winner of eight 2003 Tony Awards; best musical, best actor, best actress, best featured actor, best score, best book, best director, and best costume design. Hairspray also swept every one of the year�s best musical awards, winning, in addition to the Tony, the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, the Drama Desk Award, the Outer Critics Circle Award, and the Drama League Award.

Hairspray is produced by Margo Lion; Adam Epstein; The Baruch, Viertel, Routh & Frankel Group; James D. Stern/Douglas L. Meyer; Rick Steiner/Frederic H. Mayerson; SEL & GFO; New Line Cinema, in association with Clear Channel Entertainment; A. Gordon/E. McAllister; D. Harris/M. Swinsky; J. & B. Osher.

Charlotte Crossley

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy