Gabrielle Carrubba

Gabrielle Carrubba to assume the role of Zoe Murphy in Dear Evan Hansen on Broadway

Carrubba takes over the role full-time from July 30, 2019 at the Music Box Theatre.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Current understudy and company member Gabrielle Carrubba is set to assume the role of Zoe Murphy in the Tony Award-winning "Best Musical" Dear Evan Hansen at the Music Box Theatre from July 30, 2019, it has been announced. Current star Mallory Bechtel comes to the end of her year-long engagament on July 28.

Ms. Carrubba is a graduate of The Boston Conservatory and Dear Evan Hansen marks her Broadway debut. She has also appeared in regional productions of Burn All Night and Sweetwater.

The current principal cast of Dear Evan Hansen includes Andrew Barth Feldman (as Evan Hansen), Tony Award winner Lisa Brescia (as Heidi Hansen), Alex Boniello (as Connor Murphy), Mallory Bechtel (as Zoe Murphy), Jennifer Laura Thompson (as Cynthia Murphy), Michael Park (as Larry Murphy), Sky Lakota-Lynch (as Jared Kleinman), and Samantha Williams (as Alana Beck). 

Dear Evan Hansen began previews on November 14, 2016 and officially opened to rave reviews on December 4.

Dear Evan Hansen features a book by Tony Award winner Steven Levenson, music and lyrics by Tony & Academy Award winners Benj Pasek & Justin Paul, and is directed by four-time Tony Award nominee Michael Greif.

Synopsis: "All his life Evan Hansen has felt invisible. To his peers, to the girl he loves, sometimes even to his own mother. But that was before he wrote the letter - that led to the incident - that started the lie - that ignited a movement - that inspired a community - and changed Evan's status from the ultimate outsider into the somebody everyone wants to know. But how long can Evan keep his secret? And at what price? A tribute to the outsider in us all, Dear Evan Hansen is about someone you know, maybe even someone you are, but more than anything, it's about discovering the person we all long to be - ourselves."

The creative team features choreography by Danny Mefford, musical direction by Ben Cohn, music supervision by Alex Lacamoire, scenic design by David Korins, costume design by Emily Rebholz, lighting design by Japhy Weideman, sound design by Nevin Steinberg, and projection design by Peter Nigrini.

At The 71st Annual Tony Awards, the musical picked up the coveted award for "Best Musical," as well as "Best Book of a Musical," "Best Original Score Written for the Theatre," "Best Orchestrations," "Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical" for Ben Platt and "Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical" for Rachel Bay Jones.

Dear Evan Hansen is produced on Broadway by Second Stage Theater in association with Stacey Mindich Productions.

Dear Evan Hansen Tickets are available now for performances through March 29, 2020.

(Photo by Nathan Johnson)


Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy