Full cast announced for Kevin Kline-led Present Laughter

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Complete casting has now been announced to join Oscar winner and two-time Tony Award winner Kevin Kline in the Broadway revival of Noël Coward's classic comedy Present Laughter, directed by Tony nominee Moritz von Stuelpnagel, which is scheduled to open at the St. James Theatre on April 5, 2017, following previews from March 10, and play a limited engagement through to July 2, 2017.

The cast of Present Laughter includes Kevin Kline (Garry Essendine), Cobie Smulders (Joanna Lyppiatt), Tony & Emmy nominee Kate Burton (Liz Essendine), Tony nominee Kristine Nielsen (Monica Reed), along with new additions to the cast Bhavesh Patel (Roland Maule), Tony nominee Reg Rogers (Morris Dixon), Matt Bittner (Fred), Ellen Harvey (Miss Erikson), Peter Francis James (Henry Lyppiatt), Tedra Millan (Daphne Stillington), and Sandra Shipley (Lady Saltburn), with Kelley Curran, Rachel Pickup, James Riordan, and David L. Townsend.

Synopsis: "Present Laughter follows a self-obsessed actor (is there any other kind?) in the midst of a mid-life crisis. Freely indulging his considerable appetite for wine, women and sleeping late (not necessarily in that order), the theatre's favorite leading man suddenly finds himself caught between fawning ingénues, crazed playwrights, secret trysts and unexpected twists."

The creative team behind Present Laughter has also been announced and features scenic design by Tony winner David Zinn, costume design by Tony winner Susan Hilferty, lighting design by two-time Tony nominee Justin Townsend, sound design by Fitz Patton, and hair design by Josh Marquette.

Present Laughter is produced on Broadway by Jordan Roth, Jujamcyn Theaters, Spencer Ross, A.C. Orange International, Eric Falkenstein, Grove Entertainment, Bruce Robert Harris and Jack W. Batman, Stephanie McClelland, Harbor Entertainment, and Daryl Roth.

Originally premiereing on Broadway at the Plymouth Theatre in October 1946 with Clifton Webb in the leading role, the comedy has since enjoyed a total of four revivals - 1958 at the Belasco Theatre (starring Noël Coward himself), 1982 at Circle in the Square (starring George C. Scott), 1996 at the Walter Kerr Theatre (starring Frank Langella) and most recently by the Roundabout Theatre Company in 2010 at the American Airlines Theatre (starring Victor Garber).

Kevin Kline won Tony Awards for his performances in 'On the Twentieth Century' (1978) and 'The Pirates of Penzance' (1981). More recently, he earned a Tony nomination for 'Henry IV' in 2004. Other Broadway credits include 'Cyrano de Bergerac,' 'Ivanov,' 'Arms and the Man,' 'Loose Ends,' 'The Three Sisters,' 'The Time of Your Life,' 'Edward II,' 'The Robber Bridegroom,' 'Scapin,' 'Measure for Measure,' and 'The Beggar's Opera.' His many screen credits include his Oscar-winning performance in "A Fish Called Wanda," along with a total of 5 Golden Globe nominations, 2 BAFTA nominations and an Emmy nomination.


Originally published on