This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Solea Pfeiffer & Maia Reficco

Evita begins performances at New York City Center

The Gala Presentation of Evita is scheduled to run through November 24, 2019.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

High Flying and still Adored! Marking the 100th anniversary of Eva Perón's birth, New York City Center's upcoming gala presentation of Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice's beloved musical Evita begins performances on the Mainstage tonight and is scheduled to run through November 24, 2019.

Synopsis: "Fame, power, and illusion collide in a new production of Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice's rock opera Evita. This acclaimed musical examines the rapid and controversial ascent of Eva Perón, the first lady of Argentina, from poor illegitimate child to the most powerful woman in Latin America to her untimely death at age 33. A mosaic portrait of an extraordinary life, Evita tells the story of a woman endlessly determined to make an irrevocable mark on a world she would leave behind too soon."

Lloyd Webber's timeless score includes such musical theatre standards as "Another Suitcase in Another Hall," "On This Night of a Thousand Stars," "High Flying Adored," and, of course, "Don't Cry for Me Argentina."

The New York City Center cast is led by two actresses in the role of Eva - Maia Reficco (as Eva aged 15 - 20) and Solea Pfeiffer (as Eva aged 20 - 33) - alongside Jason Gotay (as Che), Enrique Acevedo (as Perón), and Philip Hernandez (as Magaldi).

The ensemble includes Sergio Martín Almirón, Fabio Angelo, Isa Antonetti, Leah Barsky, Kristina Bermudez, Edgar Cavazos, Alexander Gil Cruz, Rebecca Eichenberger, Jennifer Florentino, David Michael Garry, Mariano Loguidice, Robin Masella, Phoebe Garcia Pearl, Patricia Phillips, Guillermina Quiroga, Maria Cristina Slye, Lucas Thompson, Daniel Torres and Ricardo A. Zayas.

Sammi Cannold directs this new production, which also features choreography by Valeria Solomonoff and Emily Maltby, and music direction by Kristen Blodgette.

Originally published on