Dry Powder extends limited run to 1 May 2016

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

The Public Theater has announced that the world premiere of Sarah Burgess' comic-drama Dry Powder, directed by Hamilton's Thomas Kail, has extended its limited engagement by one week and will now close on 1 May 2016.

Previews began last night, with an official opening scheduled for 22 March at The Public's Martinson Theater.

Synopsis: "Dry Powder is about the people molding and messing with the American economy. The same week his private equity firm forced massive layoffs at a national grocery chain, Rick threw himself an extravagant engagement party, setting off a publicity nightmare. Fortunately, Seth, one of Rick's managing directors, has a win-win deal to invest in an American-made luggage company for a song and rescue his boss from the company's PR disaster. But Jenny, Seth's counterpart, has an entirely different plan: to squeeze every last penny out of the company, no matter the human toll. The game is on in Sarah Burgess' new play about the price of success and the real cost of getting the deal done."

The cast includes Tony nominee and five-time Emmy Award winner Hank Azaria (Rick), four-time Golden Globe and three-time Emmy Award winner Claire Danes (Jenny), Sanjit De Silva (Jeff Schrader), and Emmy nominee John Krasinski (Seth).

The creative team behind Dry Powder has also been announced and features scenic design by Rachel Hauck, costume design by Clint Ramos, lighting design by Jason Lyons and sound design by Lindsay Jones.

John Krasinski's previous screen credits include "The Office," "Away We Go," "Leatherheads," "It's Complicated," "Monsters University," "The Muppets," "Shrek the Third," and "Dreamgirls," amongst many more.

Claire Danes previously starred as Eliza Doolittle in 'Pygmalion' on Broadway in 2007 and off-Broadway in 'The Vagina Monologues' at Westside Theatre. She picked up two Golden Globes and two Emmy Awards in 2012 and 2013 for her recurring TV role as Carrie Mathison in "Homeland." She also won a Golden Globe and Emmy Award for "Temple Grandin" in 2011 and 2010, respectively, and a Golden Globe for "My So-Called Life" in 1995. Other notable screen credits include Baz Luhrmann's "Romeo + Juliet," "Me and Orson Welles," "Stardust," "Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines," "The Hours," and "Little Women."

Hank Azaria earned a Tony nomination in 2005 for Monty Python's 'Spamalot' and also starred in the Broadway production of 'The Farnsworth Invention' from 2007 to 2008. He is perhaps best known for his voice-over work on hit TV series "The Simpsons" voicing a plethora of characters including Moe, Chief Wiggum, Apu, Carl and many more. "The Simpsons" has earned him a total of four Emmy Awards. He also picked up an Emmy in 2000 for "Tuesdays with Morrie." Other notable screen credits include "The Smurfs," "The Smurfs 2," "Godzilla," "Heat," "The Birdcage," "Anastasia," "Mystery Men," "America's Sweethearts," "Friends," "Along Came Polly," "Huff," "Run Fatboy Run," and "Love & Other Drugs."

- by Tom Millward

Claire Danes

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy