This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Drama Leagues Special Recognitions Awards

The Drama League has announced the recipients of its 2011 Special Recognitions, to be presented along with its five competitive production and performance awards at The 77th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon on 20 May 2009 in the Grand Ballroom of the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Times Square.

  • Susan Stroman (The Scottsboro Boys) will be honored with the 'Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing'
  • Whoopi Goldberg (Sister Act) will receive the 'Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award'
  • Liza Minnelli (Liza's at the Palace....) will receive the Distinguished Acheivement in Musical Theatre Award.
As previously announced, The 77th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon will be hosted by Academy Award nominee Kathleen Turner, who returns to Broadway this spring in Matthew Lombardo's new drama, High.

The Drama League Awards pays tribute to the season's best performers by including the nominees of The Distinguished Performance Award on a dais. The 77th Annual Drama League Awards dais will feature approximately 50 stars from the 2010-11 Broadway and Off-Broadway season.

In addition to the Special Recognitions, The Drama League's 3,000+ members vote on five other annual awards: Distinguished Production of a Play, Distinguished Production of a Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Play, Distinguished Revival of a Musical and The Distinguished Performance Award. Nominations for these five awards will be announced on 25 Apr 2011.

Susan StromanWhoopi GoldbergLiza Minnelli

Originally published on