This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Drama League nom's announced on 25 Apr

Norbert Leo Butz and Kathleen Chalfant (both previous winners of The Drama League's Distinguished Performance Award) will announce the nominations for The 77th Annual Drama League Awards on 25 Apr 2011 at the SD26 Restaurant in Manhattan.

Butz andChalfant will announce nominations for The Drama League's five annual competitive awards, including Distinguished Production of Play, Distinguished Production of a Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Play, Distinguished Revival of a Musical and the Distinguished Performance Award.

The 77th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon is set for 20 May 2011 (noon) in the Grand Ballroom of the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Times Square. The event will be hosted by Academy Award nominee Kathleen Turner, who recently starred on Broadway in Matthew Lombardo's new drama, 'High.'

As previously announced, each year The Drama League awards three non-competitive Special Recognitions. This year, Whoopi Goldberg will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award, Liza Minnelli will be honored with the Distinguished Acheivement in Musical Theatre Award and Susan Stroman will receive the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing.

Norbert Leo ButzKathleen Chalfant

Originally published on