Drama League Awards 2014: Special Recognition Honors

Tom Millward
Tom Millward



The Drama League has announced the three recipients of the 2014 Special Recognition Awards. Barbara Cook will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award in recognition of her contribution to musical theatre. John Tiffany will be honored with the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing, and lastly, Key Brand Entertainment/Broadway Across America will be awarded the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award for their work of bringing New York productions to theatres across America.



According to Drama League Executive Director Gabriel Shanks: 'It feels like we are receiving the honor with these special recipients, not the other way around. Barbara Cook is a theatrical legend whose impact on our art form is indelible. From the company-created Black Watch to the musical Once to this season's revival of The Glass Menagerie, John Tiffany has proven himself to be a global talent who can tackle any style or project successfully. And of course, there is no more important task today than to export the best productions we have out to the rest of the world, so that others can experience their magic. Broadway Across America takes on that challenge every day, and excels year after year.'

Barbara Cook was nominated for a Tony Award for Best Featured Actress in a Musical in 2010 for 'Sondheim On Sondheim' and won the same category in 1958 for 'The Music Man'. Her 2003 solo album 'Count Your Blessings' also earned her a Grammy nomination. Her many Broadway credits include: 'Barbara Cook's Broadway!' (2004), 'Mostly Sondheim' (2002), 'She Loves Me' (1963) and 'Candide' (1956).

John Tiffany won the Tony Award for Best Direction of a Musical for 'Once' in 2012. His other Broadway credits include 'The Glass Menagerie' (2013), starring Zachary Quinto, and 'Macbeth' (2013), starring Alan Cumming.

Key Brand Entertainment/Broadway Across America presents touring Broadway shows, family productions, and other live shows in over 40 North American venues. Shows presented include Broadway hits on tour such as Wicked, Jersey Boys, Chicago, Monty Python's Spamalot, The Lion King, Rent, Spring Awakening, and The Phantom of the Opera.

The Drama League Awards have five other categories: Distinguished Play; Distinguished Revival of a Play; Distinguished Best Musical; Distinguished Revival of a Musical; and the Distinguished Performance Award.

The cut-off date for eligibility for the Awards is the 20 Apr 2014, the nominees will be announced at Sardi's restaurant on 23 Apr 2014, and the Awards will be held on 16 May 2014 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square in the Broadway Ballroom.

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatergoer awards chosen by audience members — specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and Off-Broadway productions.

The Drama League Awards honor distinguished productions, performances, and exemplary career achievements in theatre and directing.

The first Drama League Award was presented to Katharine Cornell in 1935. Since then, the Distinguished Performance Award has been accorded to a roster of theatre legends such as Audra McDonald, Liam Neeson, Hugh Jackman, Patti LuPone, Glenn Close, Liev Schreiber, Sir John Gielgud, Harvey Fierstein, Cherry Jones, Alec Guinness, James Earl Jones, Julie Harris, Helen Hayes, Jeremy Irons, Mary-Louise Parker, Sir Ian McKellen, Bernadette Peters, and Christopher Plummer.

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy