This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Dates announced for 61st Annual Drama Desk Awards

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Gretchen Shugart and Charles Wright have announced that the 61st Annual Drama Desk Awards will take place on Sunday, 5 June 2016 at 8pm at The Town Hall. Nominations for these awards will be revealed on Thursday, 28 April 2016 at 10am at Feinstein's/54 Below.

Mr Wright released the following statement:

""For almost 61 years, the Drama Desk has been honoring professional achievement at all levels of New York theater. Every spring, the Drama Desk Awards ceremony offers an occasion to celebrate outstanding work in what is unquestionably the most vibrant theater community in our country and perhaps the world."
The Drama Desk nominating committee is composed of: David Barbour, Chairperson (Lighting & Sound America); Peter Filichia (Broadway Select, author); David Finkle (Blogger, Huffington Post, Clyde Fitch Report); Sandy MacDonald (Time Out New York); Andy Propst (author); Diane Snyder (Time Out New York); Douglas Strassler (Garden State Journal); and Charles Wright (President, Drama Desk), ex officio.

Drama Desk was founded in 1949 to explore key issues in the theater and to bring together critics and writers in an organization to support the ongoing development of theater in New York. The organization began presenting its awards in 1955, and it is the only critics' organization to honor achievement in the theater with competition among Broadway, Off Broadway and Off-Off Broadway productions in the same categories.

- by Tom Millward

Originally published on