Dates announced for 60th Annual Drama Desk Awards

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Gretchen Shugart and Charles Wright have announced that the 60th Annual Drama Desk Awards will take place on 31 May 2015 at 8pm at The Town Hall. Nominations for these awards will be revealed on 23 April 2015.

Ms. Shugart released the following statement:

"It's exciting to present the Drama Desk Awards, and especially this season's 60th-anniversary show. We hope the theater community and theater lovers will join us in person on May 31st at Town Hall or online to honor New York's outstanding theater artists and productions."
Mr Wright added:
"Over the past three years, TheaterMania and its production team have made the Drama Desk Awards ceremonies a highlight of the theater season. I'm confident they'll pull out all the stops for the upcoming 60th anniversary."
The Drama Desk nominating committee is composed of: Barbara Siegel, chairperson, (author and freelance critic); Benjamin Coleman (literary associate, Samuel French, Inc.); Adrian Dimanlig ("Interludes"); Steve Garrin (broadcast producer; sound designer); Mahayana Landowne (theater director; interactive artist); and Steve Marsh (Director, Graduate Studies, Department of Theatre Arts, Stony Brook University).

Drama Desk was founded in 1949 to explore key issues in the theater and to bring together critics and writers in an organization to support the ongoing development of theater in New York. The organization began presenting its awards in 1955, and it is the only critics' organization to honor achievement in the theater with competition among Broadway, Off Broadway and Off-Off Broadway productions in the same categories.

- by Tom Millward

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy