Complete Casting Announced for On the Town

Complete casting for the upcoming revival of On The Town which will begin previews at the Lyric Theatre on 20 September 2014, with an official opening on 16 October 2014, has been announced.

Michael Rupert will play 'Judge Pitkin' alongside Allison Guinn as 'Lucy Schmeeler', Tony Award nominee Phillip Boykin and Stephen DeRosa.

They join the previously announced cast that includes Megan Fairchild, Alysha Umphress and Elizabeth Stanley, Tony Yazbeck, Jay Armstrong Johnson and Clyde Alves and Jackie Hoffman in the production, directed by John Rando.

The 19-strong ensemble will include Chip Abbott, Tanya Birl, Angela Brydon, Holly Ann Butler, Julius Carter, Kristine Covillo, Lori Ann Ferreri, Paloma Garcia-Lee, Stephen Hanna, Eloise Kropp, Brandon Leffler, Jess Leprotto, Cory Linger, Skye Mattox, Michael Rosen, Samantha Sturm, Christopher Vo, Cody Williams, and Mikey Winslow.

The production was originally seen at City Center Encores in 2008. As well as direction by John Rando it features choreography by Joshua Bergasse. It will feature scenic design by Beowulf Boritt lighting design by Jason Lyons, costume design by Jess Goldstein and sound design by Kai Harada. It is produced on Broadway by Howard & Janet Kagan.

On The Town grew out of Jerome Robbins ballet 'Fancy Free', which followed three sailors on leave in New York. The musical opened at Broadway at the Adelphi Theater in 1944, directed by George Abbott, and played through February 2, 1946 for a total of 462 performances, transferring to the 44th Street Theatre and Martin Beck Theatre.

The classic score features the standards "New York, New York," "I Can Cook Too," "Lonely Town," and "Some Other Time" and will be featured in this production with their original orchestrations, performed by what will be the largest orchestra on Broadway, with 28 musicians led by musical director James Moore.

- by Dom O'Hanlon

Originally published on