This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Beth Leavel & Brooks Ashmanskas in The Prom

Complete cast announced for the Broadway premiere of The Prom

The Prom begins performances at Broadway's Cort Theatre on October 21, 2018.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Producers of the new musical comedy The Prom have now confirmed complete casting. Joining previously announced cast members Tony Award nominee Brooks Ashmanskas (as Barry Glickman), Tony Award winner Beth Leavel (as Dee Dee Allen), two-time Tony Award nominee Christopher Sieber (as Trent Oliver), Caitlin Kinnunen (as Emma), Isabelle McCalla (as Alyssa Greene), Michael Potts (as Mr. Hawkins), Angie Schworer (as Angie), Courtenay Collins (as Mrs. Greene) and Josh Lamon (as Sheldon Saperstein), will be ensemble members Mary Antonini, Gabi Campo, Jerusha Cavazos, Shelby Finnie, Josh Franklin, Fernell Hogan, Joomin Hwang, Sheldon Henry, David Josefsberg, Becca Lee, Wayne Mackins, Kate Marilley, Anthony Norman, Drew Redington, Jack Sippel, Teddy Toye, Kalyn West and Brittany Zeinstra.

All principal cast members are reprising their respective roles from the 2016 Alliance Theatre world premiere in Atlanta, GA, with the exceptions of Michael Potts and Isabelle McCalla.

The Prom will begin previews at Broadway's Cort Theatre on October 21, 2018, ahead of an official opening on November 15, 2018.

Based on an original concept by Jack Viertel, The Prom features a book by Tony Award winner Bob Martin and Tony Award nominee Chad Beguelin, music by Tony Award nominee Matthew Sklar and lyrics by Beguelin.

Synopsis: "We've got trouble, folks, right here in Indiana and when Broadway's brassiest hear a student is unceremoniously sidelined from a small-town Indiana prom - and the press is involved - they are ready to kick-ball-change the world. A new musical comedy about the power of love (and a good 11 o'clock number), The Prom is about so much more than just a dance."

Directed and choreographed by Tony Award winner Casey Nicholaw, the production also features music direction by Mary-Mitchell Campbell, orchestrations by Tony Award winner Larry Hochman, scenic design by Tony Award winner Scott Pask, costume design by Tony Award winner Ann Roth & Matthew Pachtman, lighting design by Tony Award winner Natasha Katz, sound design by Tony Award winner Brian Ronan, wig and hair design by Josh Marquette, and make-up design by Milagros Medina-Cerdeira.

Casey Nicholaw previously released the following statement: "Bob Martin, Matthew Sklar and Chad Beguelin have created an original musical comedy that is equal parts witty, joyful and fun, filled with so much heart. The Prom is a celebration of individuality and the power of being you, which is a story that we all need to be telling right now."

The Prom is produced on Broadway by Dori Berinstein, Bill Damaschke and Jack Lane.

(Photo by Greg Mooney)

Originally published on