Clybourne Park extends run for a second time

Bruce Norris' Clybourne Park, winner of the 2012 Tony Award for Best Play, has extended its limited engagement at the Walter Kerr Theatre for a second time, and will now run through to 2 Sep 2012.

The dark comedy opened at the Walter Kerr Theatre on 19 Apr 2012, following previews from 26 Mar 2012, and was originally playing a strictly limited 16-week engagement that was due to end on 15 Jul 2012.

The Pulitzer Prize-winning play opened to mostly excellent reviews: Sharp-witted, sharp-toothed (NY Times); Razor-sharp and funny as hell (NY Post); Little that's fresh (The Record); Bitingly funny satire (Newsroom Jersey).

Clybourne Park: In 1959 a white family moves out. In 2009, a white family moves in. In the intervening years, change overtakes a neighborhood, along with attitudes, inhabitants and property values. Loosely inspired by Lorraine Hansberry's 'A Raisin in the Sun,' this pitch-black comedy from Bruce Norris takes on the specter of gentrification in one of America's most recognizable communities - leaving no stone unturned in the process.

Clybourne Park premiered Off-Broadway as Playwright Horizons, were it ran an extended run from 29 Jan - 21 Mar 2010. The original Off-Broadway cast, Frank Wood, Annie Parisse, Jeremy Shamos, Crystal A. Dickinson, Brendan Griffin, Damon Gupton and Christina Kirk, directed by Pam MacKinnon, reprise their roles for Broadway.

The creative team features sets by Daniel Ostling, costumes by Ilona Somogyi, lighting by Allen Lee Hughes and sound by John Gromada.

As well as winning the 2012 Tony Award for Best play, the show was also nominated in the following categories: Best Direction of a Play (Pam MacKinnon); Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Play (Jeremy Shamos); and Best Scenic Design of a Play (Daniel Ostling).

Cast of Off-Broadway production of Clybourne Park

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy