Casting announced for The Liquid Plain by Naomi Wallace

The Signature Theatre has announced full casting and ticket details for their upcoming production of The Liquid Plain by Naomi Wallace, directed by Kwame Kwei-Armah which runs from 17 February to 29 March 2015, with an official opening on 8 March 2015 at The Alice Griffin Jewel Box Theatre at The Pershing Square Signature Center.

The cast includes Ito Aghayere as Dembi, LisaGay Hamilton as Bristol, Robert Hogan as James De Wolfe, Michael Izquierdo as Cranston, Kristolyn Lloyd as Adjua, Karl Miller as Balthazar/William Blake, Tuck Milligan as Gifford, Tara A. Nicolas as Guinea Worm, Johnny Ramey as Liverpool Joe and Lance Roberts as Nesbitt.

"On the docks of late 18th century Rhode Island, two runaway slaves, Adjua and Dembi, plan a desperate and daring run to freedom. When a chance encounter triggers an unexpected collision of worlds, painful truths are uncovered and the brutality of past crimes spills into the next generation. The Liquid Plain brings to life a group of people whose stories have been erased from history."

Directed by Kwame Kwei-Armah, the production will feature designs by Riccardo Hernandez, costume design by Paul Tazewell, lighting design by Thom Weaver, sound design by Shane Rettig and projection design by Alex Koch.

Tickets to the initial runs of all Signature productions at The Pershing Square Signature Center are $25, part of the Signature Ticket Initiative: A Generation of Access, a program that guarantees affordable and accessible tickets to every Signature production through 2031.

- by Dom O'Hanlon

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy