August: Osage County: Tracy Letts� play wins 2008 Pulitzer Prize for Drama

The Pulitzer Prize Board has awarded the 2008 Pulitzer Prize for Drama to Playwright, Tracy Letts� critically-acclaimed American play August: Osage County.

Tracy Letts is the author of 'Man from Nebraska,' which was a finalist for a Pulitzer Prize in 2004; 'Killer Joe,' which has been produced in New York, Chicago and London and 'Bug,' which has played in New York, Chicago and London, and was adapted into a critically acclaimed film in 2006.

August: Osage County: When their patriarch vanishes, the Weston clan must return to their three-story home in rural Oklahoma to get to the heart of the matter.

The play opened to excellent reviews: 'You�d be hard pressed to witness a finer, more complete drama.' (New York Theatre Guide), 'The most exciting new American play Broadway has seen in years.' (New York Times); "You're laughing hysterically one minute and appalled the next as the 3 1/2 -hour play flies by" (New York Daily News); "It's enormously entertaining." (New York Post); "Ripping, riveting new play." (NewsDay); "One big, fat, juicy whopper." (Star-Ledger); "Most exciting new plays in years." (The Record); "So darkly delicious and ghastly that you're squirming in your seat even as you're doubled over laughing." (Variety).

The Pulitzer Prize for Drama is presented annually to a distinguished play by an American author, preferably original in its source and dealing with American life.

August: Osage County began performances at the Imperial Theatre on 30 Oct 2007 and opened on 4 Dec 2007.

As previously announced August: Osage County is moving home in Apr 2008. The play will close at the Imperial Theatre on 20 Apr 2008 and re-open at the Music Box Theatre on 29 Apr 2008.

Directed by Anna D. Shapiro, August: Osage County features Ian Barford, Deanna Dunagan, Kimberly Guerrero, Francis Guinan, Brian Kerwin, Michael McGuire, Madeleine Martin, Mariann Mayberry, Amy Morton, Sally Murphy, Jeff Perry, Rondi Reed, Troy West, Munson Hicks, Susanne Marley, Jay Patterson, Dee Pelletier, Molly Ranson, Aaron Serotsky and Kristina Valada-Viars.

The design team features Todd Rosenthal (sets), Ana Kuzmanic (costumes), Ann Wrightson (lights), Richard Woodbury (sound) and David Singer (original music).

August: Osage County is produced on Broadway by Jeffrey Richards, Jean Doumanian, Steve Traxler Jerry Frankel, Ostar Productions, Jennifer Manocherian, The Weinstein Company, Debra Black, Daryl Roth, Ronald & Marc Frankel, Barbara Freitag, Rick Steiner, Station Bell Group in association with Steppenwolf Theatre Company.

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy