August: Osage County: Robert Foxworth to play 'Charlie Aiken'

Robert Foxworth is to join the cast of Tracy Letts' comic-drama August: Osage County, winner of the 2008 Pulitzer Prize for Drama, playing the role of 'Charlie Aiken' from 17 Jun 2008.

Foxworth assumes the role from original cast member Francis Guinan who plays his final performance on 15 Jun 2008.

Foxworth�s Broadway credits include 'Twelve Angry Men' (2004), 'Judgment at Nuremburg' (2001), 'Honour' (1998), Ivanov (1997 revival), Candida (1993 revival), 'Love Letters' (1989) and 'The Crucible' (1972 revival). Foxworth is a veteran performer with over 90 film and television credits to his name, he is most proberbly best known for his portrayal of 'Chase Gioberti' in the TV series 'Falcon Crest'.

As previously annpounced, Jim True-Frost also joins the cast of August: Osage County on 17 Jun 2008, assuming the role of 'Little Charlie' from original cast member Ian Barford.

August: Osage County transferred to the Music Box Theatre on 29 Apr 2008, from the Imperial Theatre. The show played its final performance at the Imperial Theatre on 20 Apr 2008, where it opened on 4 Dec 2007, following previews from 30 Oct 2007.

The play opened to excellent reviews: 'Letts...knows just how to put the "fun" back into "dysfunctional.' (New York Theatre Guide), 'The most exciting new American play Broadway has seen in years.' (New York Times); "You're laughing hysterically one minute and appalled the next as the 3 1/2 -hour play flies by" (New York Daily News); "It's enormously entertaining." (New York Post); "Ripping, riveting new play." (NewsDay); "One big, fat, juicy whopper." (Star-Ledger); "Most exciting new plays in years." (The Record); "So darkly delicious and ghastly that you're squirming in your seat even as you're doubled over laughing." (Variety).

August: Osage County is the winner of the 2008 Pulitzer Prize, Drama League, Drama Desk, New York Drama Critics and Outer Critics Circle Awards for Best Play, and has been nominated for seven Tony Awards.

August: Osage County currently features Ian Barford (Little Charles), Deanna Dunagan (Violet Weston), Brian Kerwin (Steve Heidebrecht), Kimberly Guerrero (Johnna Monevata), Francis Guinan (Charlie Aiken), Michael McGuire (Beverly Weston), Mariann Mayberry (Karen Weston), Madeleine Martin (Jean Fordham), Amy Morton (Barbara Fordham), Sally Murphy (Ivy Weston), Jeff Perry (Bill Fordham), Rondi Reed (Mattie Fai Aiken) and Troy West (Sherrif Deon Gilbeau).

The drama had its world premiere at Chicago's Steppenwolf, directed Anna D. Shapiro, where it ran from 28 Jun - 26 Aug 2007.

Anna D. Shapiro, once again directs the production, which marks her Broadway debut. The design team features Todd Rosenthal (sets), Ana Kuzmanic (costumes), Ann Wrightson (lights), Richard Woodbury (sound) and David Singer (original music).

August: Osage County is produced on Broadway by Jeffrey Richards, Jean Doumanian, Steve Traxler and Jerry Frankel, in association with Steppenwolf Theatre Company.

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy