2014 Theatre World Awards: winners announced

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

The winners of the 2014 Theatre World Awards for outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway debut performances were announced on the 06 May 2014.

The 70th annual Theatre World Award winners are (in alphabetical order):

  • Paul Chahidi: Twelfth Night, or What You Will
  • Nick Cordero: Bullets Over Broadway
  • Bryan Cranston: All the Way
  • Mary Bridget Davies: A Night with Janis Joplin
  • Sarah Greene: The Cripple of Inishmaan
  • Rebecca Hall: Machinal
  • Ramin Karimloo: Les Misérables
  • Zachary Levi: First Date
  • Chris O'Dowd: Of Mice and Men
  • Sophie Okonedo: A Raisin in the Sun
  • Emerson Steele: Violet
  • Lauren Worsham: A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder

The winner of the 2014 Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater is Celia Keenan-Bolger (The Glass Menagerie).

The winner of the 2014 John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre is Christopher Plummer.

The awards will be presented to the winners at the 70th Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony to be held on 02 Jun 2014 at Circle in the Square. Peter Filichia will again host, with the awards presented by past Theatre World Award winners.

The Theatre World Award winners are chosen by the Theatre World Awards committee, comprised of David Cote (Time Out New York and NY1), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News), Peter Filichia (The Newark Star-Ledger, Emeritus) Harry Haun, Matthew Murray, Frank Scheck (New York Post) and Linda Winer (Newsday).

First presented in 1945, the Theatre World Awards are the oldest awards given for a debut theatre performance on or off-Broadway.


Christopher Plummer: John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre

Originally published on