This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

2014 Lilly Award Winners Announced

The winners of the 2014 Lilly Awards have today been announced by the Lilly Awards Foundation, honoring women of distinction in American theatre.

The winners will be celebrated at the 5th Annual Lilly Awards Ceremony set for Monday, June 2 2014 at Playwrights Horizons. The awards celebrate and honour women of distinction in American Theatre, and were originally created in 2010 by founders Julia Jordan, Marsha Norman and Theresa Rebeck. The Lilly Awards are named after American playwright Lillian Hellman.

The 2014 awards celebrate three authors of the most profitable and remarkable works of theatrical entertainment in a decade. Winnie Holzman who is responsible for the book of the Tony Award-winning musical 'Wicked' will be honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award. A Lilly Award will be presented to Kristen Anderson-Lopez who is the co-composer of Disney's Oscar-winning film 'Frozen' which recently became the highest grossing animation film in history and is currently being developed for the Broadway stage. Playwright Lorraine Hansberry will also be honoured by the cast of the current critically acclaimed production of 'Raisin in the Sun'.

The full list of 2014 winners includes:

  • Kristen Anderson-Lopez
  • Susan Bernfield
  • Johanna Day
  • Winnie Holzman
  • Joyce Ketay
  • Mary Mitchell Campbell
  • Rebecca Naomi Jones
  • Dominique Morrisseau
  • Kelli O'Hara
  • Jen Silverman
  • Jeanine Tesori
  • Liesl Tommy

    Presenters at this year's ceremony will include: John Doyle, Audra MacDonald, Tony Kushner, Stephen Schwartz, and Steven Pasquale.

Originally published on