Winners of the 2009 Theatre World Awards

The winners of the 2009 Theatre World Awards for outstanding Broadway and off-Broadway debut performance were announced on the 11 May 2009.

The 65th annual Theatre World Award winners are:
in alphabetical order.

  • David Alvarez / Trent Kowalik / Kiril Kulish: Billy Elliot: The Musical
  • Chad L. Coleman: Joe Turner�s Come and Gone
  • Jennifer Grace: Our Town
  • Josh Grisetti: Enter Laughing, The Musical
  • Haydn Gwynne: Billy Elliot, The Musical
  • Colin Hanks: 33 Variations
  • Marin Ireland: reasons to be pretty
  • Susan Louise O�Connor: Blithe Spirit
  • Condola Rashad: Ruined
  • Geoffrey Rush: Exit the King
  • Josefina Scaglione: West Side Story
  • Wesley Taylor: Rock of Ages

Special Award: To the entire cast of 'The Norman Conquests' - Amelia Bullmore, Jessica Hynes, Stephen Mangan, Ben Miles, Paul Ritter, and Amanda Root.

The awards will be presented to the winners at a ceremony to be held at Broadway's Samuel J. Friedman Theatre, on 2 Jun 2009. Peter Filichia will host, Barry Keating will direct, and Scott Denny, Kati Meister and Erin Oestreich are the event�s producers. John Willis, founder of the Theatre World Awards, will be in attendance.

In its 65th year since its inception, the Theatre World Awards remains the oldest one given for a debut theatre performance on or off-Broadway.