Taylor Trensch makes his official debut in Dear Evan Hansen

Taylor Trensch takes over the title role full-time in the Tony Award-winning musical Dear Evan Hansen at the Music Box Theatre.

Taylor Trensch as Evan Hansen

Taylor Trensch, , steps into the title role of the Tony Award-winning musical Dear Evan Hansen full-time at the Music Box Theatre tonight. Mr. Trensch actually made a surprise debut in the production on Tuesday, January 30 and appeared again in a handful of performances last week until previous leading man Noah Galvin played his final performance on Sunday, February 4.

After assuming the role of Moritz in the National Tour of Spring Awakening in 2009, Mr. Trensch made his Broadway debut as Boq in Wicked in 2012 and went on to star as Michael Wormwood in Matilda the Musical, Christopher Boone in The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, and, most recently, completed his run as Barnaby Tucker in the acclaimed Broadway revival of Hello, Dolly!

Dear Evan Hansen began previews on November 14, 2016 and officially opened at Broadway's Belasco Theatre on December 4. Read our 5* review.

Dear Evan Hansen features a book by Tony Award winner Steven Levenson, music and lyrics by Tony & Academy Award winners Benj Pasek & Justin Paul, and is directed by four-time Tony Award nominee Michael Greif.

Synopsis: "All his life Evan Hansen has felt invisible. To his peers, to the girl he loves, sometimes even to his own mother. But that was before he wrote the letter - that led to the incident - that started the lie - that ignited a movement - that inspired a community - and changed Evan's status from the ultimate outsider into the somebody everyone wants to know. But how long can Evan keep his secret? And at what price? A tribute to the outsider in us all, Dear Evan Hansen is about someone you know, maybe even someone you are, but more than anything, it's about discovering the person we all long to be - ourselves."

The complete cast of Dear Evan Hansen currently includes Taylor Trensch (as Evan Hansen), Tony Award winner Rachel Bay Jones (as Heidi Hansen), Tony Award nominee Mike Faist (as Connor Murphy), Laura Dreyfuss (as Zoe Murphy), Jennifer Laura Thompson (as Cynthia Murphy), Michael Park (as Larry Murphy), Will Roland (as Jared Kleinman), and Kristolyn Lloyd (as Alana Beck).

The creative team features choreography by Danny Mefford, musical direction by Ben Cohn, music supervision by Alex Lacamoire, scenic design by David Korins, costume design by Emily Rebholz, lighting design by Japhy Weideman, sound design by Nevin Steinberg, and projection design by Peter Nigrini.

At last year's 71st Annual Tony Awards, the musical picked up the coveted award for "Best Musical," as well as "Best Book of a Musical," "Best Original Score Written for the Theatre," "Best Orchestrations," "Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical" for Ben Platt and "Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical" for Rachel Bay Jones.

Dear Evan Hansen is produced on Broadway by Second Stage Theater in association with Stacey Mindich Productions.

Dear Evan Hansen Tickets are available now for performances through to January 6, 2019.

(Photo by Nathan Johnson)