Signature announces cast for Miller's Incident at Vichy

Signature Theatre has announced casting for the upcoming Arthur Miller revival Incident at Vichy in celebration of the Centennial of the Pulitzer Prize winning-playwright's birth.

Directed by Michael Wilson, the cast of Incident at Vichy includes in alphabetical order David Abeles, Curtis Billings, James Carpinello, AJ Cedeño, Quinlan Corbett, Brian Cross, Demosthenes Chrysan, Jonathan Gordon, Tony Award nominee Jonathan Hadary, Alex Morf, Tony Award nominee Jonny Orsini, Darren Pettie, John Procaccino, Alec Shaw, Derek Smith, Emmy Award winner Richard Thomas and Evan Zes.

Incident at Vichy begins previews on 27 October 2015 at the Pershing Square Signature Center's Irene Diamond Stage, befor an offical opening on 15 November and a limited run through to 6 December 2015.

Synopsis: "In Vichy, France at the height of World War II, nine men and a boy are rounded up under suspicious circumstances. As ominous reports of far-off camps and cattle cars packed with prisoners begin to circulate, the men battle over politics, philosophy and how to escape. A haunting examination of the cold, bureaucratic efficiency of evil - and the shared humanity that might overcome it."

The creative team has also been announced and features scenic design by Jeff Cowie, costume design by David C. Woolard, lighting design by David Lander, sound design by John Gromada, projection design by Rocco DiSanti, dialect coaching by Deborah Hecht and fight direction by Mark Olsen.

This production marks Signature Theatre's first staging of an Arthur Miller play since his 1997-98 residency with the company.

- by Tom Millward