Dear Evan Hansen wins at the 2018 Grammy Awards

The Tony Award-winning musical Dear Evan Hansen adds a Grammy Award to its list of accolades.

Ben Platt in Dear Evan Hansen

#YouWillBeFound and awarded a Grammy in the category of "Best Musical Theater Album"! Congratulations to the 2017 Tony Award-winning musical Dear Evan Hansen, which fought off stiff competition from the Broadway cast recordings of Come From Away and the Bette Midler-led revival of Hello, Dolly! to scoop the coveted Grammy Award yesterday.

The win marks the first-ever Grammy for shooting star songwriters Benj Pasek & Justin Paul, who had previously been honored with a string of accolades, including a Lucille Lortel Award for their off-Broadway musical Dogfight, an Academy Award and Golden Globe for "La La Land" (in the category of Best Original Song for "City of Stars"), and an Obie, Drama Desk and Tony Award for Dear Evan Hansen. They also recently picked up a Golden Globe for "This Is Me" from the Hugh Jackman-led movie musical "The Greatest Showman" and are currently Oscar-nominated for the stirring anthem as well.

Pasek & Paul share the award with original cast member Ben Platt, alongside Laura Dreyfuss, Mike Faist, Rachel Bay Jones, Kristolyn Lloyd, Michael Park, Will Roland and Jennifer Laura Thompson, as well as Pete Ganbarg, Alex Lacamoire, and producer Stacey Mindich.

In addition, Mr. Platt also performed a special tribute to legendary composer Leonard Bernstein during the 60th Annual Grammy Awards ceremony with his own moving rendition of "Somewhere" from West Side Story.

Ben Platt at The 60th Annual Grammy Awards
(Photo by Theo Wargo / WireImage​)

And in another Broadway-centric performance, two-time Tony Award winner Patti LuPone reprised her iconic 1981 Grammy performance of "Don't Cry for Me, Argentina" from Evita in a special tribute to composer Andrew Lloyd Webber.

Patti LuPone at The 60th Annual Grammy Awards
(Photo by Theo Wargo / WireImage)

Dear Evan Hansen Tickets are available now for performances through to January 6, 2019.

(Header Photo by Matthew Murphy)